American Studies Databases

Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.

Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

Access to 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, and the 1997 Economic Census.

Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.

Native American history | 1500-1998 CE | Manuscripts, maps, atlases, legal documents, diaries, artwork, photographs, and newspapers

This HeinOnline resource contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are data visualization charts, books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Michigan's collection provides access to 9,500 books and almost 2500 digitized issues of 12 journals published in the 19th century.

American Music is a history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.