Biological Sciences Databases

An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools such as Diagnosaurus ®, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.

AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection features basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen realistic patient cases.

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is a comprehensive online resource for learning and teaching human anatomy. It contains videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in real life, providing a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.

Basic research journals in the field of chemistry, also includes some technoeconomic titles such as Chemical and Engineering News.

The ACS Symposium Series contains peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.

Covers the agriculture literature and related fields published in books, technical reports, journals, theses, patents, software, and audio-visual materials.

Focus is on indexing the literature pertaining to algae, fungi, protozoa, lichens; covers reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection/immunity.

The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. This bibliography is produced from MEDLINE database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Altweb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond.

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

This 3D model of human anatomy by Anatomy.TV includes sections for the head and neck, thorax and abdomen, spine and joints, functional anatomy as well as dentistry and dental hygiene. Users may drill down through layers of musculature, neurovascular supply to the skeleton, each with accompanying text focused on the cursor. Its Anatomy Trains segment presents a unique 'longitudinal' view of myofascial anatomy.

Indexes papers in animal behavior from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and applied ethology.

Database with searching capabilities of animal taxonomic names with access to old zoological literature including all zoological taxa described between 1757 and 1764. Links to the digital editions of taxonomic literature including various editions of Linnæus. The project has various collaborators that may add information to the database. Service is provided by the Zoological Institute of the University of Göttingen, Germany.

Search full text of Annual Reviews covering the biomedical, physical and social sciences, and economics.

The focus is on basic and applied research on aquatic organisms with particular attention to fisheries.

This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species. With the extensive information resources of the international ASFA partnership behind it, ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts provides specific, unparalleled coverage of the planned management of aquatic organisms.

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts is the one database that assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. Owned, operated and funded by Cornell University.

This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.

Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 2 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.

With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Offers online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals plus full text.

This database includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text sources from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology's cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

An aggregation of research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by small societies, and non commercial publishers.

Issued as a part of the Web of science, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. BIOSIS also combines the content from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.

This database provides article abstracts on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.

Birds of the World is a research database that brings together scholarly content from four major works of ornithology [Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World], millions of bird observations from eBird, and multimedia content from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Birds of the World presents a vast array of information about every species, subspecies, and family of the world's birds. Accounts include images, sounds, and videos as well as illustrations, maps, animations, and authoritative text from all of the component projects.

Bloomsbury Food Library is a home to a wide-ranging collection of interdisciplinary food studies content, with subjects in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. Bloomsbury Food Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

Provides current access to international coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

Provides international coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

This database assembles pertinent information from wide-ranging sources, reflecting the multi-disciplinary nature of calcium research.

Drawing from the literature on neurobiology, chemistry, physiology of taste, and chemotaxis this database covers topics on single transduction, receptors, channels, and neurogenetics.

Contains Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one interface with access to over 1100 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Register on ClinicalKey's home page for personal username/password in order to access pdfs of ebook chapters and to use personalized features.

The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Ingredients of dietary supplements are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases such as MedlinePlus and PubMed to allow users to understand the characteristics.

This database provides a practical means for researchers to keep up with the field. All recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology are assembled here, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans and terrestrial isopods.

Europe PMC is a database of abstracts and indices of life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Full-text access to some content may be available.

Gale in Context: Science features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

The GBIF global biodiversity information facility facilitates digitization and global dissemination of primary biodiversity data, so that people from all countries can benefit from the use of the information. This web site provides information about the current state of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), an international initiative.

This database provides a practical means for keeping up with wide-ranging findings that are important to scientist's own studies, sifting the worldwide literature for significant advances as they happen and forging an essential link among different systems. All areas of genetics are covered from microbes to plants to humans; molecular genetics, DNA, protein synthesis, ribosomes, enzymes and gene regulation.

Capturing ecological, social, and public health crises, these documentaries bring the neglected stories of marginalized communities to light.

Global Plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.

Includes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research. Contains full text links to a few of Tufts subscribed databases such as Pubmed and scholarly articles that are available anywhere across the web.

This database offers a comprehensive source for developments and promising applications emerging from international genome research, including the massive Human Genome Project.

Significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this database.

IPA (Ingenuity Pathways Analysis) is a curated database and analysis system that allows researchers to search, analyze and graphically view molecular interactions, biological functions and diseases.

Video textbooks which explain concepts taught in undergraduate courses through high-impact animations and real-life experiments.

JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments is an online video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments. This resource enables scientists in academia and biotech to learn new experiments and research technologies.

An all-in-one solution for teaching undergraduate lab courses through comprehensive and curriculum-focused videos for both instructors and students.

JoVE Science Education is a video collection dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.

Its drug monographs can be searched by keyword. Pills and other pharmaceuticals can be identified by shape, color and markings. Detailed color photographs, drawings, and radiographs are included. The following works and topics can also be browsed: Dental-Office Medical Emergencies, Natural Therapeutics, Clinicians Endodontic Handbook, Oral Soft- and Hard-Tissue Diseases, Manual of Dental Implants, Manual of Clinical Periodontics, Oral Surgery for the General Dentist, and Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry.

Official drug reference of the American Pharmaceutical Association. Includes Lexi-Drugs Online, Lexi-Drugs International Online, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs Online, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs Online, Lexi-Natural Products Online, Nursing Lexi-Drugs Online, Drug Induced Nutrient Depletion, Infectious Diseases, Poisoning & Toxicology, Laboratory Tests, Diagnostic Procedures.

This database contains full text access to selected biomedical and basic science books and multimedia assets.

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the Ovid interface.

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the ProQuest interface.

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the Web of Science interface.

RED BOOK™ is the essential resource healthcare professionals reach for every day to find the latest information for prescription and over-the-counter products. RED BOOK reduces the need to conduct redundant searches and simplifies identification, analysis, and comparison of drug and non-drug products.

Website for the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), which is responsible for building, maintaining, and distributing GenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database that collects all known DNA sequences from scientists worldwide. Focuses on biomedical and genomic information.

The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical and health sciences students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation, USMLE (National Board) preparation, etc.

An online image bank of Dr. Netter's classic anatomy & pathology illustrations along with many diagnostic imaging examples.

This database contains perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies.

OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative database that features catalogs of autosomal dominant, autosomal recessive, x-linked, y-linked, and mitochondrial phenotypes. Includes information on human genes and genetic disorders. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes.

Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations.

An aggregate of databases with access to full text journals and books providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Veterinary medicine, Nursing, Allied health and Dentistry. Includes EBM Reviews (ACP Journal Club and Evidence-based medicine), CDSR (Cochrane Database of systematic reviews), DARE (Database of abstracts of effectiveness), CAB Abstracts, Global Health, HealthSTAR, Pre-Medline, Medline, Books@Ovid, and a collection of journals.

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

This PubMed link provides access to NCBI's databases with links out to articles licensed by Tufts. Its MEDLINE content contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of journals licensed or owned by Tufts is available via blue Tufts print and electronic icons on its Abstract display below each citation. PubMed links to free full text and to Tufts' holdings appear to the right of the search results.

Research journals in Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities.

Provides research support for both the applied and general sciences, with access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements. Covers topics relating to major fields of study, including physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences, and chemistry.

A database of approximately 2000 full text journal titles published by Elsevier covering the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods. It brings together content from SpringerProtocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and Protocol Exchange.

Electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiles protocols from Humanas book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.

Searchable database of drug compendia, and medical and dental textbooks.

The Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is an image database containing all of the images from Thieme's top educational Anatomy titles. This tool allows users to customize images and create presentations.

Vet-Library is a library specialized in animal science and related areas. It is mainly focused on Veterinary practice, Basic sciences, and Research.

Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS. A subset of the Biological Science Database.

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

Web of Science Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.