Civilization Databases
A searchable database of the American Museum of Natural History's digitized archival photographic images, art, ephemera, and Rare Book Collection illustrations.
The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). It currently comprises 50,000 titles from 1958 to 2009, i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the famous bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Every reference has been fully classified by date, subject and location, and provides full bibliographical records. The disciplines to which the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is relevant include all aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and so forth in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is fully integrated with the International medieval bibliography: users can either search the bibliographical records of articles (IMB) and monographs (BCM) simultaneously, or select only one of the two bibliographies.
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
This website provides access to the following editions of the Encyclopaedia of Islam: Encyclopaedia of Islam First Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms, Encyclopaedia of Islam Three, Encyclopedie de l'Islam, and Historical Atlas of Islam.
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a freely available, digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Selected collections have been digitized, annotated, and peer-reviewed. It is particularly strong in ethnomusicology. Users must register to gain access to selected collections.
This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Newly commissioned, fully peer-reviewed articles that supplement Lexicon des Mittlealters and offer supplementary notes to the original LexMA articles. The chronological range of IEMA is CE 3001500, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.
An international index to medieval topics (400-1500) in literature, language, history, archaeology, art, music, theater, Arabic and Islamic studies, and religion and philosophy. IMB covers 4,500 journals and over 5,000 miscellany volumes in 30 languages. Coverage 1967-
An index of interdisciplinary journal literature on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies.
The most comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
L'Annee philologique is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L'Annee philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.
DYABOLA databases include subject catalogues, bibliographies, photograph archives, and any other forms of text and images in the field of Classical archaeology. **YOU MUST CLICK 'ACTIVATE IP' AND THEN 'START'**
Qur'anic Studies Online includes, among other resources, (1) Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān Online, an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'ānic studies; (2) Early Western Korans Online, a collection of 62 korans printed in Arabic type in several Western European cities between 1537 and 1857;(3) Qurʼān Concordance, a unique finding aid which allows users to identify and localize text fragments, or even snippets, of the Qurʼān; (4) and Dictionary of Qurʼānic Usage, a fully-researched and contextualised Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage, compiled in accordance with modern lexicographical methods by scholars who have a lifelong immersion in Qur'anic Studies.
These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. We include letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps. The Grand Tour is a wonderful source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe's urban spaces. There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.