Engineering Databases

An online resource of world-renowned engineering content to support all levels of scientific and technical research. Please LOG OUT when you are finished using this resource.

Basic research journals in the field of chemistry, also includes some technoeconomic titles such as Chemical and Engineering News.

The ACS Symposium Series contains peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.

This collection, which includes the Aerospace Database, provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of advanced technology literature from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Topics covered include aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer science and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.

This collection of journals provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage in the fields on advanced technologies & aerospace spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.

Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.

This database contains a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.

Information about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.

A database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. Owned, operated and funded by Cornell University.

Full text of all American Society of Civil Engineers journals, ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings, offering in-depth sources on civil and environmental engineering topics.

Full text of all American Society of Mechanical Engineers journals plus Applied Mechanics Reviews from 1990 forward. Also included are selected ASME titles from 1998, plus all published books from 2006 to the present including all 2010 print publications. You must click the Search eBooks box to include e-book content in your search.

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.

A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors

Britannica Image Quest is an online file of more than two million rights-cleared images from some 40 image collections. Complete metadata, which includes the source, copyright holder, caption, and keywords, is provided for every image.

This database is a comprehensive resource for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books and press releases.

This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASCE and ICE. The database currently includes over 1M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. It covers all civil aspects from architecture, structural design and construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics.

Compendex is the online version of Engineering Index. It covers all of the literature in engineering, but is particularly good for civil, mechanical, and chemical engineering. For standard access a password is not required. For enhanced service providing personalization, alerting, and search history, you will need to create an account with a password.

This bibliographic database provides comprehensive index to world literature on computers and software, including software engineering, artificial intelligence, mathematical modeling and computer simulation, Internet applications, e-commerce, multimedia information systems, user interfaces and information systems in such applications as library science, health care and engineering.

This database encompasses all aspects of copper, its alloys and its compounds. From mining and extractive metallurgy, to antimicrobial properties, to use of copper in semiconductors, this database gathers information from academic journals, conferences and trade literature.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on corrosion science and engineering, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance and equipment for many industries.

Online reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form. Examples of titles are: Bloomsbury Guide to Art, Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Columbia Encyclopedia, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. The complete list of titles is available on the CREDO Reference site.

DART-Europe provides access to European research theses from 360+ universities in 20 European countries.

A Web of Science resource for patent literature from 40 patent issuing authorities. Uses the ISI search interface and links forward in time to citing patents and backwards in time to cited patents. Coverage from some source patents begins in 1963.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Tufts University.

This database is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

A database of free, full text, quality controlled scholarly journals in a broad range of subjects and languages. There are over 3,000 journals in the directory, with almost half searchable at article level.

Provides comprehensive authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation; currently comprised of approximately 114,000 records (full citations and abstracts) from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on engineered materials such as polymers, plastics, rubber, ceramics and composites. The database addresses manufacturing practices, properties and applications of these materials.

Provides research and communications on engineering. The database focuses on a wide range of topics related to the multidisciplinary study of engineering. Major content engineering areas include: architectural and design, construction, civil, automotive, aerospace, mechanical, transportation, environmental, earthquake, naval and marine, railway, utilities, forensic, mathematics, sustainability.

This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASME and IMechE. The database currently includes over 6.2M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. It covers all mechanical engineering and transportation engineering aspects from aerospace to automotive.

The premier index for the engineering literature, EV provides citations for articles, conference proceedings, selected patents, and other materials dating back to the 1880s. Comprises Compendex and Inspec and includes Knovel-driven Equations and links to related Scopus records.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.

Ergonomics Abstracts is a source of information on mainstream ergonomics, as well as on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.

The FirstSearch platform provides access to ArticleFirst, ECO, and WorldCat.

The GeoRef In Process database contains records that are in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently. GeoRef In Process does NOT contain the most current records and should not be confused with a database of Recent References. In Process records may lack a few fields or contain minimal data in some fields. It is recommended that you select both the GeoRef and GeoRef In Process to perform the most comprehensive search.

Index to U.S. government documents.

HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository with over 10 million volumes including content digitized via the Google Books project, Internet Archive, and by local libraries. Public domain content is full-text; non-public domain content (post-1923) is for full-text searching only. Since Tufts is a member, those with a Tufts login can download the pdf of pre-1923 materials and can build a personal collection. To login select Collections, then select login from the upper right; choose Tufts University and login using your Tufts username and password.

Henry Stewart Talks contains over 1,000 online audio-visual seminar style talks in medicine and the life sciences.

Journals and books from the Institution of Civil Engineers covering every major civil and structural engineering discipline. Includes searchable archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present.

IEEE Xplore digital library provides full-text access to IEEE, IET & IEE journals, conferences and standards, as well as Wiley-IEEE Press e-books and standards, and MIT Press e-books.

This database of electronic books published by the IET provides access to just over 300 full-text electronic books across 12 specialist disciplines, covering all key areas of engineering and technology.

The IMechE Virtaul Archive features key objects, drawings, notebooks, documents and photographs which showcase the history of the Institution and mechanical engineering.

INSPEC is the leading database for the world's literature in physics, electrical and electronics engineering, computing, and information technology. It corresponds to the print publications Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronic Abstracts, and Computer and Control Abstracts.

JoVE Science Education is a video collection dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.

The KCI Korean Journal Database on the Web of Science lets researchers around the world discover new insights from research emanating from South Korea while making connections to the broader research landscape for a more complete global picture.

Knovel is an extensive collection of technical e-books for engineers and applied scientists, and has interactive charts, tables, graphs, equations and information on best practices.

Descriptive collection of critically assessed data in all fields of physical chemistry. Content is listed in 3 main groups, from all fields of physics, physical chemistry, geophysics, astonomy and biophysics. Special indexes allow for fast orientation either from the substance or property side. The data collection provides access to more than 387 volumes within the New Series.

The collection includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text sources and expert indexing of global literature, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, books, dissertations and theses, and government and official publications.

Provides research and communications on the field of materials science, materials properties, and applications. The database focuses on a wide range of topics related to the multidisciplinary study of materials science, including applications of metals, alloys, polymers, composites, and ceramics.

The collection contains materials science related abstracts and full-text articles.

This database is the only comprehensive materials science research solution providing indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles. It currently includes millions of records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Materials covered include steels, metals, alloys, compounds and metal matrix composites.

This collection includes 23 current and archival newspaper databases.

O'Reilly Safari Books Online is a fully-searchable e-reference library housing a collection of technical books that cover the technologies most essential to users including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. Users are able to search hundreds of books simultaneously online. To Access: In the Institution drop-down list, choose the first option. “Not listed. Click here”. You will then be asked to enter your Tufts email for access.

Provides web access to more than 100 major Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works in the humanities, social sciences, foreign languages, science, technology and medicine, the performing arts, and religion. Works can be searched separately or across the entire databases. Includes over 1.5 million entries.

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

Pivot is the product of the merger of RefWorks, which began as a web-based research management, writing and collaboration tool, with COS (a ProQuest brand), which provides tools for discovering funding opportunities and supporting collaboration in the research development field.

Portico provides perpetual access to journal titles subscribed to by Tufts University.

Research journals in Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities.

Provides research support for both the applied and general sciences, with access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements. Covers topics relating to major fields of study, including physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences, and chemistry.

SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. It provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS, which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service; and to MEDLINE, which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered include over 10,000 journals, patents from over 60 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. 15 million PatentPak PDFs are included, as well as 5 million synthetic protocols. SciFinder provides researchers with improved searching functionality and additional tools to analyze and manipulate retrieved data sets. Registration is required to use this database.

SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. It provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS, which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service; and to MEDLINE, which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered include over 10,000 journals, patents from over 60 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. 15 million PatentPak PDFs are included, as well as 5 million synthetic protocols. SciFinder-n provides researchers with improved searching functionality and additional tools to analyze and manipulate retrieved data sets. Registration is required to use this database

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

A collection of searchable, full-text titles published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all aspects of theory, production and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology. A subset of the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database.

Collection of resources available on optics and photonics, providing access to over 150 books and more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present.

Electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiles protocols from Humanas book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.

SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Bornstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering.

The Synthesis eBook Collections, formerly the Synthesis Collection of Technology, provides coverage of leading edge topics across the fields of Engineering and Computer Science. Books in this collection are based on techniques, reviews and course notes and defined as “lectures”. These are short, focused books, consisting of around 75-150 pages, bridging the gap between a journal article and an average book. These books tend to have rapid development cycles, publishing research on hot topics as soon as these emerge.

The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database, and the Materials Science & Engineering Database. It features full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Ulrichs is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all typesacademic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.

This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. A subset of the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.

Search across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.

SciELO Citation Index is a database index of open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects covered include: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.

Provides full-text access to 300+ journals published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered include: Business, Finance & Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Education, Engineering, Law, Life & Medical Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics and Psychology.

WorldCat is a catalog of materials held by libraries worldwide, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, musical scores, videos, manuscripts, and maps.

WorldCat Discovery is a catalog of materials held by libraries worldwide, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, musical scores, videos, manuscripts, and maps. In addition, it provides location and availability information for items held at Tufts University.