International Relations Databases

This collection provides access to documents covering Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and existence as an independent state.

This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee Breaking the German Will to Resist.

African history, colonialism | 1870-1914 CE | Diaries, journals, sketch books, correspondence, official documents, photographs.

Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.

Amnesty International Archives

Human rights | 1950-1999 CE | Minutes, reports, correspondence, first-hand accounts, publicity materials, circulars.

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.

AREAER Online provides direct access to the exchange rate and trade regimes data for all members of the International Monetary Fund that was used to create the yearly reports since 1999. The data can be searched across years, countries, and specific categories.

Consists of three sections: Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. Video requires Real Player.

This collection provides access to telegrams, correspondence, minutes, memoranda and confidential prints gathered in the India Office Military Department on Mesopotamia.

Culled from the U.S. National Archives, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. Includes significant material related to the British Mandate in Palestine.

Chinese Academic Journals is the largest full-text database of Chinese academic journals in the world. Tufts subscribes to journals in the subjects of politics, military affairs, and law.

Provides searchable access to the full-text of working papers and conference proceedings from 45 leading research centers in the field of international policy and scholarship. CIAO also provides abstracts from key foreign policy journals and the texts of 12 books on various aspects foreign affaires as well as links to internet resources and a calendar of meetings and conferences.

**There is a new login for Connect: please enter your Tufts email and follow instructions provided. Access will be available the next day after following this procedure.** Connect / IHS Global Insight provides comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries. The information and analysis covers over 200 countries and spans more than 170 industries using a unique combination of expertise, models, data, and software within a common analytical framework to support planning and decision making.

Financial, political and economic risk ratings for approximately 140 countries.

The Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables.

These documents highlight the structure and activities of the Persian Gulf States' and Yemen's political system, government, judiciary, laws, military, customs, economy, finance, agriculture, natural resources, industry, communications, and media. Because of the broad scope of these records, they both supplement and complement the coverage offered by the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States series.

This collection of State Department documents provides access to unique primary source materials on the political, economic and social development of Turkey during a period of democratization in the 1950s.

The Digital National Security Archive, with over 35,000 documents, provides access to what has been called the largest collection of contemporary declassified national security information outside the United States Government.

EIU Viewpoint provides information for organizations to operate effectively and plan for the future. Assess global dynamics that could impact business with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment.

EMIS Professional focuses on news, data, intelligence, and company and industry information for emerging markets around the world. Includes proprietary M&A information, peer analysis, credit analytics, benchmark indicators, and trend comparisons.

Europa World Plus is the online version of the most recent Europa World Year Book and the nine Regional Surveys of the World Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australia, The Middle East and North Africa, South American, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. This reference work provides up-to-date background and statistical information on every country in the world.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities at the end of the First World War. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the mandate authorities and the activities of the native peoples.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities during the period 1930-1939. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities from 1910-1933. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and the industrialization and economic exploitation of Portugal's African colonies.

This HeinOnline resource includes the publications of the American Society of International Law, Yearbooks from around the world, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports presents translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe. Includes Annexes from 1974-1996.

Culled from the U.S. National Archives, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. Includes material on the French Mandate in Syria-Lebanon the Druse Rebellion of 1925, religious and political conflict, the failure of the Franco-Lebanese Treaty of 1936, the creation of a new mandate administration in Syria in 1939, and more.

Gale in Context: Global Issues focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues, such as genocide in Darfur, product safety of Chinese imports, sectarian violence in Iraq, changing weather patterns across the globe, and disaster recovery in Indonesia and New Orleans.

Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States: citations to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, and other material in more than 500 international social science and humanities journals, published from 1970 to the present. Many citations are linked to full-text.

Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts; Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals; U.S. laws, regulations, cases and Congressional materials; international treaties and constitutions, foreign and comparative law materials, United Nations and League of Nations publications; and Jessup moot court information.

Developed in conjunction with the William Winthrop Memorial Library of the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's School, this collection contains publications produced by the JAG on military justice, war crimes, and international law. The collection also contains rare 19th century works on military law and justice, and the complete works of Colonel William Winthrop.

Digitized documents from the Justice Department Library and U.S. National Archives covering the Hindu Conspiracy Case, a series of arrests and later trials against Indian Nationalists active in the United States, bankrolled by Germans interested in supporting the overthrow of British colonial rule in India.

Fully searchable and downloadable compendium of statistics that includes over 37,000 data series on various topics. Allows users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.

Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.

Provides access to over 10,400 of the International Monetary Fund's recent publications, including periodicals, books, analytical papers, and statistical tools.

A HeinOnline multilingual index to articles and book reviews from more than 500 worldwide legal journals. Covers public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the UK, Canada, and Australia.

Digitized collection of documents from the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India during the critical period of transition to formal independence. Includes special reports on political and military affairs, socioeconomic studies, interviews and meeting minutes with foreign government officials, documents received by U.S. diplomats, translations of foreign government documents (including speeches, memos, transcripts of meetings) and foreign newspapers.

Over 15,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man's land between India and Afghanistan. This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.

Native American history | 1500-1998 CE | Manuscripts, maps, atlases, legal documents, diaries, artwork, photographs, and newspapers

Janes' periodicals and databases, with information on defense, security, weapons, terrorism, intelligence, and public safety.

Drawn from the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files, the content of this collection provide essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Moroccan internal affairs from 1950 to 1959. These topics include: U.S. support for nationalists, Istiqlal Party terrorism, the Arab League's anti-French attitude, French exchange controls in Morocco, French settler concerns of spread of Algerian civil war, Pan-Arabism Berber support of French administration and army, the installation of French-puppet Sultan, economic and financial reforms, the exodus of Moroccan Jewry, Islamic society and Berberism, decolonization, development of the agricultural sector, industrial development, immigration and emigration, development of the textile industry, foreign trade and investment, and Marshall aid to Morocco.

LatinNews was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean.

In 2009, the League of Nations Archives were registered in UNESCO’s Memory of the World Register. The archives were recognized as a unique collection of global importance that met the criteria established by UNESCO to facilitate preservation, assist with universal access, and increase awareness worldwide for documentary heritage of international, regional and national significance.

Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions.

The Middle East and Africa Database (or MIDA) is a bibliographic and full-text database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America. This is the electronic version of Middle East, Abstracts & Index.

Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970-offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1971. National Archives records provide access to over 138,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Some of the topics covered include the British capture of Jerusalem, the milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948, Jewish terror groups, the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, the Border wars of the 1950s, formation of the United Arab Republic, the Cold War in the Middle East and Black September.

Iraq 1914-1974 offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Topics covered include: The Siege of Kut-al-Amara, The War in Mesapotamia and the capture of Baghdad in 1917, Introduction of the British Mandate, and the installation of King Faisal in 1921, The British administration in Baghdad, Gertrude Bell, advisor to the British administration, in both reports and memos, The Arab Uprising of 1920, Independence, and Iraq's membership of the League of Nations in 1932, Coups d'etat in the 1930s and 1940s, The Baghdad Pact of 1955 and the military coup of 1958 leading to the establishment of a republic, The Cold War and Soviet intervention in Iraq, Kurdish unrest and the war in Kurdistan, Oil concessions and oil exploration, The Rise of Ba'athism and Saddam Hussein, The USSR-Iraq Treaty of Friendship in 1972, Iran-Iraq relations.

Daily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora, and translated into English. Includes searchable archives and email newsletters.

Military database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications and civil engineering. Full-text titles including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

OECD iLibrary provides online access to Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) resources, covering trade, environment, agriculture, technology, economic development, and more. The books, reports, working papers and periodicals are full-text and the databases have extensive statistical information.

Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. It includes consumer demographics, market trends and nutrition data that allows users to examine the total amount of nutrients purchased through packaged food and soft drink products worldwide.

This primary source collection digitized from archives held at McMaster University highlights the activities of resistance groups through their newspapers and periodicals, broadsides, leaflets, books, and pamphlets, with a particular strength on the propaganda activities of resistance groups.

These documents highlight the structure and activities of the Persian Gulf States' and Yemen's political system, government, judiciary, laws, military, customs, economy, finance, agriculture, natural resources, industry, communications, and media.

This collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990.

The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database, and the Materials Science & Engineering Database. It features full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

TRAC provides researchers in the fields of terrorism studies, political science, international relations, sociology, criminal justice, philosophy and history with content that provides comprehensive data and analysis for complex topics.

This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection entitled Records of U.S. Foreign Assistance Agencies, 1948-1961: U.S. Operations Mission in Iraq, 1950-1958.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.

This collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. These files consist of letters of correspondence, memoranda, coversheets, notes, distribution lists, newspaper articles, informational papers, published articles, and reports from the public, the Congress, Bush administration officials, and other various federal agencies primarily regarding American Middle East peace policy and the United States' role in the many facets of the Middle East peace process.

This collection is a record of the U.S. Operations Mission's experiences in Saudi Arabia. In it are outlined the programs that were initiated, the problems encountered, and the results of the five year effort in the Point Four program. The aim of the Point Four program was to promote the combined growth of economic and social improvement and political freedom.

Major United Nations legal publications from HeinOnline, including United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series.

Treaties and international agreements entered into by members of the United Nations and registered with the Secretariat are included in this searchable database. Full text of the treaties is available in the section labeled United Nations Treaty Series. In addition to the certified texts, this collection provides status information on the treaties and other related material. The League of Nations Treaty Series is also included.

World Politics Review provides news and analysis of critical global trends for policymakers, business people and academics.

This HeinOnline collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one fully searchable database. Includes related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography of related publications.

This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

The Yearbook of International Organizations includes detailed information on over 37,500 active and approximately 38,000 dormant international organizations from 300 countries and territories - including intergovernmental (IGOs) and international non-governmental organizations (INGOs). Approximately 1,200 new organizations are added each year.

Find Databases By Another Subject