Language and Literature Databases

A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.

Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century.

A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The works explore a wide variety of cinematic styles and techniques relevant to the study of film, literature, and the visual and performing arts.

The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). It currently comprises 50,000 titles from 1958 to 2009, i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the famous bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Every reference has been fully classified by date, subject and location, and provides full bibliographical records. The disciplines to which the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is relevant include all aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and so forth in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is fully integrated with the International medieval bibliography: users can either search the bibliographical records of articles (IMB) and monographs (BCM) simultaneously, or select only one of the two bibliographies.

The index to the Black Literature microfiche collection. This index allows users to search bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry, and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Black Studies in Video includes streaming access to seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience in the United States. Highlights include footage from the 50th anniversary reunion celebrating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, documentaries of major black figures (e.g. Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton), and the Hatch-Billops Collection on black American art, drama, and literature.

Bloomsbury Food Library is a home to a wide-ranging collection of interdisciplinary food studies content, with subjects in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. Bloomsbury Food Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

The British Politics and Society archive of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is packed with primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. The content selection rationale for British Politics and Society was to present materials that enable in-depth examination and analysis of the growing calls for political reform that were met with state resistance and marked a crisis of legitimacy for both the government and the reform movements themselves. Political issues and reform derive from economic, social, ideological, even psychological elements, none of which should be assessed in a vacuum. The documents in this archive consider these political issues in the form of personalities, events, and institutions.

British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. This collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, for example, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records, offering scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.

Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Guidelines, rules and regulations about writing style, authorship, printing and publishing manuscripts, articles, essays, etc.

English literature, Social history | 1700-1977 CE | Rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork.

The digital edition of 'Clotel' presents, for the first time together, the full extant texts of the novel's four versions, published between 1853 and 1867. Imaged and coded, the fully searchable texts may be read individually or in parallel and are accompanied by generous biographical, critical, and historical commentary as well as line-by-line annotations and textual collation.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.

An online collection reproducing every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819 - the complete printed, non-serial source materials of American culture for the 17th and 18th centuries. Covers titles in the Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker bibliographies.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), comprising all known English language books from the beginning of printing to 1700.

Eleven major editions, from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-1866, 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

English literature, drama | 1737-1824 CE | Larpent Collection of Plays, London Stage Database, Biographical Dictionary Database.

Universalis is an encyclopedic reference of the French-speaking world. Dedicated to documentary research, general knowledge and education, it is aimed at both individuals and professionals (schools, communities, libraries, companies, etc.). Universalis offers high quality answers in all disciplines and in all major areas of knowledge through multiple media.

Cites over 300,000 essays and indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. Also includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain.

Indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. Includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering 8 decades of 20th Century literature.

One of the most important literary discoveries of the second half of the twentieth century was the recovery of the spectacular library of more than 72,000 volumes, covering a broad range of subject areas, that was collected during the first half of the nineteenth century by Victor Amadeus, the Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (17791834), and housed at his castle (Castle Corvey) near Paderborn, Germany. In real terms this collection contains over 2 million printed pages of English-language works, many of them comprising multiple volumes. The Corvey Collection thus constitutes one of the most important collections of British Romantic-era writing in existence anywhere. The extent of its scholarly significance is indicated, for instance, by the considerable number of exceedingly rare publicationsand even numerous previously unknown worksby British writers (and women writers in particular, whose works comprise over 1,000 of the titles) who were active during the Romantic period. In addition to this remarkable trove of English-language literary texts, Gale's Corvey Collection of European Literature also includes 3,658 works in French (including more than 500 by women) and 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 1790 to 1840.

An open access online thematic catalogue of all compositions attributed to Girolamo Frescobaldi (Ferrara, 1583 Rome, 1643), and a database of the early sources, modern and facsimile editions, and literature.

Gale in Context: Middle School is a cross-disciplinary database aimed at middle school students that includes literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. A visual interface design and navigation preferred by younger users is combined with user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework. Gale's reference content includes age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.

Biographical information, excerpts from critical essays, and bibliographies on major dramatists from all eras. International in scope. Access includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

An annual bibliography of books and articles relating to European Humanism and the Renaissance. Sources may be historical, political, artistic, literary, philosophical, technical, economic, etc. The terms humanism and renaissance are intended in a broad sense, both in terms of content and chronology. Emphasis is on, but not strictly limited to, the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Coverage begins in 1965.

An index of interdisciplinary journal literature on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies.

The most comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.

JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

The KLG – Critical Encyclopedia of Contemporary German-Language Literature is the standard work on contemporary German-language literature of the 20th and 21st centuries. Outstanding German-speaking authors are comprehensively acknowledged in more than 880 articles: detailed essays with a view to their work and impact are supplemented by extensive catalogs raisonnés and bibliographies of secondary literature.

L'Annee philologique is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L'Annee philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.

More than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays by US writers whose heritage is Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central American, and South American.

Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through the texts of the Second Vatican Council (CE 1962-1965). Covers all the works from the Classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature, as well as works of recentior latinitas, including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. Includes the complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

English literature | 1480 CE-present | Manuscripts, correspondence, notebooks | Emphasis on Victorian literature.

English literature | 1600-1800 CE | Poetry manuscripts from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds.

English literature | 1554-2007 CE | Records from The Stationers’ Company Archive | History of the book, copyright, and publishing.

Mango is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation and grammar skills for real communication. Each course integrates the comprehensive Intuitive Language Construction Methodology, with intuitive content structure and imagery, making it easy to learn and fun to use.

Medieval history | 1200-1700 CE | Manuscript materials.

Presents detailed information on more than 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines.

Online version of the Modern Language Association Handbook, the authoritative source for MLA citation formatting and research paper layout.

This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1921. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

English literature | 1643-1982 CE | John Murray Archive | Book history, travel writing, politics, and poetry.

A complete text of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.

High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Library, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the sixth through the sixteenth centuries CE. Includes extensive bibliographic material relating to the collection.

English literature | 1500-1719 CE | Literary manuscripts written or compiled by women | British Isles.

Play Index provides citations to over 30,000 plays written or translated into English, from Antiquity to the present, published in collections since 1949: one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. It includes links to the full text of plays if available on the web. Over 500 monologues are included. Searches can be limited by genre, age of audience, or the number and gender of roles. Annotations include plot summary, musical and scenery requirements, and number of sets. The index is updated continuously.

English literature | 1642-1841 CE | Manuscripts, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, legal and financial records, maps, and fine art from the Wordsworth Trust.

English literature, drama | 1899-2013 CE | Prompt books, production records.

The most important and comprehensive collection of early English-language newspapers, dating from 1603. A full-text digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides collected by the Reverend Doctor Charles Burney (1757-1817), preserved and augmented by the British Library.

English literature, drama | 1663-1984 CE | Prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library.

English literature, drama | 1971-2018 CE | Prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.

Index to short stories from a variety of magazines. Indexing from 1915-present; select full-text from 1994. Entries feature links to other works by the author and other stories in the source collection.

Contains more than 140,000 short stories from some 350 periodicals and collections of short stories, and cites short stories published over 150 years.

Compiled and edited between 1773 and 1782, by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (Complete Library of Four Treasures) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics, and more.

The TCG Books Play Collection offers plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America. TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

The TLG digital library contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. **NOTE: Users must create a personal account in order to use the TLG.

The TLS historical archive provides searchable access to the full text of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902. It includes more than 300,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles. Names of contributors, anonymous through 1974, have been restored wherever possible.

Provides full-text access to approximately 50,000 poems by over 300 American poets. Search by author, keyword, title, first line, dates, publisher, gender, or literary movement.

This database includes newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus and includes periodicals published in these newly independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian and cover various issues of domestic and international importance.

A full-text collection of works written by women, in English or in English translation, before 1850.

Zotero is a tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research. Sign up with a Tufts email for unlimited storage.

Find Databases By Another Subject