Law Databases

Full-text searching of records from the ACLU from before its founding in 1920 through the 20th century. Covers topics such as race, identity, gender rights, workers rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more.

Consists of three sections: Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. Video requires Real Player.

The Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946 is a comprehensive collection designed to make the APA’s history more accessible and understandable.

The Brennan Center is a nonpartisan law and policy institute that seeks to improve the systems of democracy and justice in the United States. The Center's work focuses on a wide range of issues, such as voting rights, campaign finance reform, racial justice in criminal law, and Constitutional protection in the fight against terrorism. This HeinOnline collection contains over 200 titles, its law and policy scholarship addresses many issues, is largely written by attorneys, and is extensively peer-reviewed by scholars and legal practitioners. Once a year, the Center publishes a book-length volume, Democracy and Justice: Collected Writings, which compiles excerpts from the year's shorter scholarship and includes new material for that publication.

Chinese Academic Journals is the largest full-text database of Chinese academic journals in the world. Tufts subscribes to journals in the subjects of politics, military affairs, and law.

This collection consists of essential documents on the promulgation and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands.

Provides searchable access to the full-text of working papers and conference proceedings from 45 leading research centers in the field of international policy and scholarship. CIAO also provides abstracts from key foreign policy journals and the texts of 12 books on various aspects foreign affaires as well as links to internet resources and a calendar of meetings and conferences.

Provides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.

This HeinOnline database provides access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports, and scholarly articles organized into the following areas of impact: Economics, Global impact, Health, and Society.

This HeinOnline collection includes the official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice). Also included are guides, handbooks, hearings, and other materials related to the study of criminal justice in the United States.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

More than 60 titles offering a wide variety of content covering humanities, medicine, the sciences and law.

This Heinonline resource contains links to full texts on United States and English case law. Includes searchable databases

EMIS Professional focuses on news, data, intelligence, and company and industry information for emerging markets around the world. Includes proprietary M&A information, peer analysis, credit analytics, benchmark indicators, and trend comparisons.

Contains reprinted decisions of all English courts from 1220 to the commencement of the official Law reports in 1866. HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, along with its Index of Cases and Index Chart. This collection represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867.

Provides a limited search of environment abstracts within the ProQuest Environmental Science Index.

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Includes coverage from 1940s, as well as full text for over 650 journals.

This HeinOnline resource includes the publications of the American Society of International Law, Yearbooks from around the world, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.

This HeinOnline resource provides a searchable database with links to legal materials on gun regulation in the United States.

Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts; Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals; U.S. laws, regulations, cases and Congressional materials; international treaties and constitutions, foreign and comparative law materials, United Nations and League of Nations publications; and Jessup moot court information.

HeinOnline’s Air and Space Law illustrates the history of air and spaceflight through the programs and people that made these dreams possible. Bringing together documents on private-sector pioneers with government-funded programs, users of this database are able to see how governments and regulators reacted to these new technologies, the accidents and disasters that prompted reform, and the new frontiers that await as technology advances at an improbable speed. Topics covered include: airline deregulation; air traffic control modernization; airline safety concerns in a post-9/11 world; drones; satellites and their essential function in modern life; the Space Shuttle Program, including investigation of the Columbia and Challenger disasters; the growing problem of space debris; and the increasing amount of private, commercial companies and their stake in space.

HeinOnline's Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans including disabled Americans and those identifying as LGBTQ. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still.

Developed in conjunction with the Law Library of Congress, the Law Library of Congress Reports is a database with a collection of more than 3,500 reports on foreign, comparative, and international law. These reports have been compiled in response to requests from Members of Congress, Congressional staff and committees, the federal courts, executive branch agencies, and other institutions.

Developed in conjunction with the William Winthrop Memorial Library of the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's School, this collection contains publications produced by the JAG on military justice, war crimes, and international law. The collection also contains rare 19th century works on military law and justice, and the complete works of Colonel William Winthrop.

This database provides brief overviews of state histories from colonization to statehood. It also identifies a wide range of both readily available and hard-to-find materials from each state. This is an invaluable and comprehensive tool for researchers. Sources include state codes, journals, digests, reports, surveys, and much more. Sources link to available documents whenever possible.

Includes access to Attorney General Opinions for Massachusetts which constitute integral elements in the state’s framework of governing law. These opinions have the characteristics of both primary and secondary authorities and are all contained in the database’s platform.

The Political &Legal History collection give users an array of titles tailored to Massachusetts' history and development, presenting an eclectic and colorful view into its legal, historical, social, geographic, and economic makeup through historical and current texts. Content is as unique and distinct as the state it represents, while also paying homage to the regional and historical ties that have bound certain states together.

HeinOnline’s digital Session Laws Library contains exact replications of the official bound session laws of every state. This ever-expanding database is the only complete online source of laws from each selected state(s), beginning with territorial, colonial, and early statehood laws and continuing through to today.

Includes Massachusetts state reports, as well as linking to the full text of available historical state reports in HeinOnline’s image-based PDF format. This database provides researchers with a bibliographic guide to published court reports and how they interrelate with the National Court Reporter system.

Includes access to Massachusetts' historical superseded state statutes, providing an avenue to understanding the creation of historical statutes.

U.S. State Commitments with Foreign Governments is an online collection of the full text of the commitments entered into by various U.S. states with foreign governments to cooperate on issues ranging from economic development to environmental protection, from archaeology to human rights and transportation. Most have never been published before.

HeinOnline's Water Rights & Resources is dedicated to understanding the complex interplay of state and federal laws that govern all aspects of water in society, from municipal use to restoring its pristine condition. Collecting congressional documents, books, legislative histories on major legislation, and Supreme Court briefs on related cases, this collection touches on a wide range of water issues, including irrigation, hydropower, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights, encompassing the unique water rights issues that span from the Eastern seaboard to the Great Lakes and across the arid West.

Investment Arbitration Reporter offers news & analysis of international arbitrations between foreign investors and sovereign governments, as well as proprietary data and legal research tools.

A HeinOnline multilingual index to articles and book reviews from more than 500 worldwide legal journals. Covers public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the UK, Canada, and Australia.

The International Commission of Jurists promotes and protects human rights through the rule of law. Created in 1952, the ICJ aims to ensure the progressive development and effective implementation of international human rights and international humanitarian law. It also works to secure the realization of civil, cultural, economic, political, and social rights, as well as strives to safeguard the separation of powers and guarantee the independence of the judiciary and legal profession. This HeinOnline resource includes books, reports, journals, and practitioners' guides. Materials are from 1952-present.

ISLG is a collection of tools for researching international investment treaty law. The scope of ISLG's document collection includes all publicly available decisions and awards where the subject of the claim is an investment treaty. Currently, NAFTA and ICSID awards and decisions are the most complete. The collection also includes investment treaties, including bilateral investment treaties, and rules.

JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

This HeinOnline collection consists of full-text access to over 2,300 law journals, usually starting with the first volume and available through the most current content.

In 2009, the League of Nations Archives were registered in UNESCO’s Memory of the World Register. The archives were recognized as a unique collection of global importance that met the criteria established by UNESCO to facilitate preservation, assist with universal access, and increase awareness worldwide for documentary heritage of international, regional and national significance.

This database contains thousands of works from some of the most well-known legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin N. Cardozo, and many more. The collection focuses on constitutional law, political science, and other topics. In addition to many classic treatises, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.

This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.

This HeinOnline database provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 7th edition, along with the 6th and 5th editions, are included in database format, which also allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008 and 2015. All print editions are included in HeinOnline's image-based, fully searchable, user-friendly platform.

Nexis Uni contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

Oxford Constitutions of the World contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.

Full-text access and searching of Oxford University Press journals.

This HeinOnline resource provides access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960, including the Problems, Judges' Briefs, Rules, and leading written memorials.

A comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. On-demand, graphic visualization library translates complex policy issues and data sets into infographics. The Document Drawer repository offers primary source documentation. Limited state coverage also included.

Legal content from India and many other countries - commentaries, statutory law, case law, and law reports, including Supreme Court Cases (SCC), the law report of the Supreme Court of India.

This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

This resource aids researchers in identifying thousands of articles, books, government documents, looseleaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects. Based on Cheryl Nyberg's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series.

The Oyez Project from the Chicago-Kent College of Law is a freely-available, multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.

Searchable HeinOnline database which includes various documents and records of proceedings of the United States Congress.

The HeinOnline United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered an essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, and much more. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics, including reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.

Searchable HeinOnline database of the complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States' most important U.S. federal agencies.

Searchable HeinOnline database which includes comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers.

This HeinOnline database includes messages and papers of the presidents, daily and weekly compilations of presidential documents, public papers of the presidents, documents relating to impeachment, Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and a host of other related works.

This HeinOnline database includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, featuring every law, public and private, ever enacted by Congress. It also includes early federal codes and compilations of statutes, as well as other related works.

This HeinOnline database includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.

HeinOnline Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts; Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals; U.S. laws, regulations, cases and Congressional materials; international treaties and constitutions, foreign and comparative law materials, United Nations and League of Nations publications; and Jessup moot court information.

This HeinOnline database contains a collection of law-related titles, all originally published by the University of North Carolina Press. The titles cover a variety of legal topics and include currently published, as well as historical titles.

Major United Nations legal publications from HeinOnline, including United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series.

Treaties and international agreements entered into by members of the United Nations and registered with the Secretariat are included in this searchable database. Full text of the treaties is available in the section labeled United Nations Treaty Series. In addition to the certified texts, this collection provides status information on the treaties and other related material. The League of Nations Treaty Series is also included.

UPSO provides access to e-book content from leading university presses in the fields of biology, math, neuroscience, physics and law.

Searchable HeinOnline database which contains a historical archive and currently published materials related to women and the law. Includes titles from the Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.

This HeinOnline collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one fully searchable database. Includes related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography of related publications.

WorldTradeLaw.net offers both a free resource library of current trade news and resources, as well as a subscription service (the DSC Service), which provides summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations; a current keyword index; a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics; and a user-friendly search tool for WTO cases, legal texts, and other documents.

This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.