Political Science Databases

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.

A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Tufts Archival Research Center (TARC) have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.

Full-text searching of records from the ACLU from before its founding in 1920 through the 20th century. Covers topics such as race, identity, gender rights, workers rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more.

The American Enterprise Institute is a public policy think tank. The American Enterprise Institute database brings AEI's collection of scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Institute in HeinOnline's fully-searchable image-based format.Unique to this collection is the ability to search by Policy Area, a subject identifier assigned by AEI to each of their publications that organizes their works into the following areas: economics, foreign and defense policy, society and culture, health care, politics and public opinion, poverty studies, and education.

Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.

Human rights | 1950-1999 CE | Minutes, reports, correspondence, first-hand accounts, publicity materials, circulars.

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.

This collection enables students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more. This unique fully-searchable collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

Bloomsbury Food Library is a home to a wide-ranging collection of interdisciplinary food studies content, with subjects in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. Bloomsbury Food Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

Culled from the U.S. National Archives, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. Includes significant material related to the British Mandate in Palestine.

Asian history, colonialism | 1834-1922 CE | Records from the British Foreign Office Files.

Chinese Academic Journals is the largest full-text database of Chinese academic journals in the world. Tufts subscribes to journals in the subjects of politics, military affairs, and law.

Provides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.

Financial, political and economic risk ratings for approximately 140 countries.

CQ Press Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

The Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables.

Data Planet provides access to several thousand different national and international standardized datasets; the data can be displayed in charts, graphs, maps, and tables, as well as exported for further manipulation. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. The data now includes U.S. Political Stats.

The Digital National Security Archive, with over 35,000 documents, provides access to what has been called the largest collection of contemporary declassified national security information outside the United States Government.

EIU Viewpoint provides information for organizations to operate effectively and plan for the future. Assess global dynamics that could impact business with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment.

Europa World Plus is the online version of the most recent Europa World Year Book and the nine Regional Surveys of the World Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australia, The Middle East and North Africa, South American, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. This reference work provides up-to-date background and statistical information on every country in the world.

The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This HeinOnline library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports, Annual Reports, Working Papers, and more.

This HeinOnline resource includes the publications of the American Society of International Law, Yearbooks from around the world, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports presents translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe. Includes Annexes from 1974-1996.

Culled from the U.S. National Archives, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. Includes material on the French Mandate in Syria-Lebanon the Druse Rebellion of 1925, religious and political conflict, the failure of the Franco-Lebanese Treaty of 1936, the creation of a new mandate administration in Syria in 1939, and more.

Gale in Context: Global Issues focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues, such as genocide in Darfur, product safety of Chinese imports, sectarian violence in Iraq, changing weather patterns across the globe, and disaster recovery in Indonesia and New Orleans.

Gallup Analytics provides access to trended data for the U.S. back to the 1930's and a decade of data from more than 160 countries. It includes data sources from Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking, and Gallup Brain.

Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States: citations to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, and other material in more than 500 international social science and humanities journals, published from 1970 to the present. Many citations are linked to full-text.

Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts; Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals; U.S. laws, regulations, cases and Congressional materials; international treaties and constitutions, foreign and comparative law materials, United Nations and League of Nations publications; and Jessup moot court information.

HeinOnline's Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans including disabled Americans and those identifying as LGBTQ. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still.

LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, 'bathroom bills,' and more. A separate subcollection presents historical texts whose views are offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped formed the laws of their time.

Digitized documents from the Justice Department Library and U.S. National Archives covering the Hindu Conspiracy Case, a series of arrests and later trials against Indian Nationalists active in the United States, bankrolled by Germans interested in supporting the overthrow of British colonial rule in India.

Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 includes several hundred titles from Latino presses of the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes titles published in Spanish, English, and bilingual papers from across 22 states.

This collection documents the activist and professional activities of Donald S. Lucas. The vast majority of the collection dates from 1953 to 1969. The Lucas collection contains an abundance of material relating to the early homosexual civil rights movement (the homophile movement) and the San Francisco manifestation of President Lyndon Johnson's War on Poverty. The strength of the collection lies in the administrative and work files of the Mattachine Society, the Mattachine Review, Pan-Graphic Press, and the Central City Target Area of the San Francisco EOC. The collection includes: correspondence, meeting minutes, constitutions and by-laws, newsletters, manuscripts, financial documents, reports, statistics, legal decisions, surveys, counseling records, funding proposals, and subject files.

Independent Voices provides access to over 1,000 titles from magazines, journals, and newspapers drawn from alternative presses published in the 1960s-1980s. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Digitized collection of documents from the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India during the critical period of transition to formal independence. Includes special reports on political and military affairs, socioeconomic studies, interviews and meeting minutes with foreign government officials, documents received by U.S. diplomats, translations of foreign government documents (including speeches, memos, transcripts of meetings) and foreign newspapers.

Indigenous Peoples of North America (Parts 1 & II) contains primary source material documenting the encounter between Europeans/Americans and Indigenous people in N. America. The collection contains photographs, newspapers, letters, administrative documents, and other primary source material in both English and Indigenous Languages. Most of the materials come from the 19th century. Part II extensively documents the 'Indian Rights Association.' This organization was one of the first social activist associations attempting to promote Indigenous rights founded by non-indigenous individuals. The collection documents this organization's ambiguous history.

ICPSR provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction. Data files are raw data, not in report format, and are used with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. There is a tutorial on the site and a Tufts University contact is listed to help with downloading.

An annual bibliography of books and articles relating to European Humanism and the Renaissance. Sources may be historical, political, artistic, literary, philosophical, technical, economic, etc. The terms humanism and renaissance are intended in a broad sense, both in terms of content and chronology. Emphasis is on, but not strictly limited to, the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Coverage begins in 1965.

The International Commission of Jurists promotes and protects human rights through the rule of law. Created in 1952, the ICJ aims to ensure the progressive development and effective implementation of international human rights and international humanitarian law. It also works to secure the realization of civil, cultural, economic, political, and social rights, as well as strives to safeguard the separation of powers and guarantee the independence of the judiciary and legal profession. This HeinOnline resource includes books, reports, journals, and practitioners' guides. Materials are from 1952-present.

This HeinOnline resource contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are data visualization charts, books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.

The KCI Korean Journal Database on the Web of Science lets researchers around the world discover new insights from research emanating from South Korea while making connections to the broader research landscape for a more complete global picture.

Drawn from the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files, the content of this collection provide essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Moroccan internal affairs from 1950 to 1959. These topics include: U.S. support for nationalists, Istiqlal Party terrorism, the Arab League's anti-French attitude, French exchange controls in Morocco, French settler concerns of spread of Algerian civil war, Pan-Arabism Berber support of French administration and army, the installation of French-puppet Sultan, economic and financial reforms, the exodus of Moroccan Jewry, Islamic society and Berberism, decolonization, development of the agricultural sector, industrial development, immigration and emigration, development of the textile industry, foreign trade and investment, and Marshall aid to Morocco.

This collection contains 3,000 rare pamphlets, including publications from Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines, as well as more than 100 German pamphlets published in Spanish. Distributed throughout Spain, Germany, Italy, the Soviet Union and North America, the pamphlets in this collection represent the opinions and philosophies of the insurgents, anarchists, socialists and communists. The pamphlets contain a wealth of information on Spanish and international history, ideology, political science, church and state conflicts, nationalism, socialism, fascism and communism.

Provides access to more than 45 fully searchable Latin American newspapers covering people, issues and events of the region between 1805 and 1922.

This second series of digitized Latin American Newspapers expands the number of searchable titles available from this region by more than 250 additional titles. Includes newspapers published in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries.

LatinNews was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean.

This database contains thousands of works from some of the most well-known legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin N. Cardozo, and many more. The collection focuses on constitutional law, political science, and other topics. In addition to many classic treatises, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.

This database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African Peoples Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles. Material from 1970-1985.

Full-text searching of mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, published from 1450 through 1914. This collection covers social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization, and the birth of the modern corporation - tracking the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.

Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions.

The Middle East and Africa Database (or MIDA) is a bibliographic and full-text database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America. This is the electronic version of Middle East, Abstracts & Index.

Military database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications and civil engineering. Full-text titles including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.

Nexis Uni contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

NK News.org is an independent, privately owned specialist site focused on North Korea. NK News has no affiliation to any political organization or country. The site aims to be a one-stop-shop on North Korea, bringing together news, opinion & analysis, research tools, data, and subject specialists in one convenient place. The service was established in April 2010 and is head quartered in Wilmington, Delaware, with staff also based in Seoul, New York, London, and Tokyo.

Provides full text searchable archives for journals of opinion, such as The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, Dissent, NACLA, American spectator, National review, Harper's magazine, New York review, and the New Yorker. Covers domestic and international politics, arts and culture from leading authors, poets, journalists, and statesmen.

High-level overviews of scholarship written by top names in the field get researchers and faculty up to speed quickly on topics beyond an area of expertise.

This resource covers issues in public policy, combining both PAIS Archive and PAIS International, with coverage from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The resource provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism).

Digitized documents from the papers of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders of the first lesbian rights organization in the United States, the Daughters of Bilitis. This collection focuses on Lyon and Martins work with other organizations such as ACLE, the Kinsey Institute for Sex Research, the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, and the National Organization for Women, as well as covering the research and reception of Martins book Battered Wives. See also the related collection: Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis.

Digitized documents on the founding and growth of the homophile movement, especially the Daughters of Bilitis, the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, founded by Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin. The collection also includes copies of The Ladder, the monthly magazine for the Daughters of Bilitis, as well as early meeting minutes, correspondence, chapter records, membership data, and manuscripts. See also the related collection: Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis.

An easy-to-use web-based Geographic Information System (GIS), use Policy Map to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

ProQuest Political Science Database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals. Doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.

A comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. On-demand, graphic visualization library translates complex policy issues and data sets into infographics. The Document Drawer repository offers primary source documentation. Limited state coverage also included.

This collection, which includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.

This collection of periodicals focuses on newsletters issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organizations throughout the country and on periodicals devoted to gay and lesbian political and social activist agendas. Carefully selected for rarity from the thousands of titles in the GLBT Historical Society archives, the collection features more than 200 newsletter and periodical titles totaling nearly 8,000 issues.

The iPOLL Databank from the Roper Center Public Opinion Research Archives focuses on national scope surveys and contains not only the complete question text and responses to half a million questions from as far back as 1935, but also information such as study abstracts, links to questionnaires, datasets and citation information where available.

This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for social science journals covering anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

The ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection combines discipline specific collections in politics and sociology with resources that cut across the entire spectrum of the social sciences. This Collection enriches the discipline by providing more coverage on applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

The Statesman's Yearbook includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, and population.

TRAC provides researchers in the fields of terrorism studies, political science, international relations, sociology, criminal justice, philosophy and history with content that provides comprehensive data and analysis for complex topics.

News and trends in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.

The HeinOnline United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered an essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, and much more. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics, including reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.

Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.

An electronic guide to federal, state, local and international public documents, spanning over 200 years of publication, in a single searchable database. Contains two types of records, full bibliographic records and brief records comprised of index terms or pointers to public documents cumulations or catalogs.

Major United Nations legal publications from HeinOnline, including United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series.

Treaties and international agreements entered into by members of the United Nations and registered with the Secretariat are included in this searchable database. Full text of the treaties is available in the section labeled United Nations Treaty Series. In addition to the certified texts, this collection provides status information on the treaties and other related material. The League of Nations Treaty Series is also included.

Access to online video from Vanderbilt's archive collection of CNN and NBC material only, plus abstracts for the remainder of the collection which holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming.

This HeinOnline database contains a current constitution for every country in original language format and English translation, as well as constitutional histories for many countries. Also includes constitutional periodicals, classic books, and links to scholarly articles and online resources.

A joint project of the Center for Research Libraries and CRL, the World Newspaper Archive digitizes newspapers from around the world. Search them together or search by region (Africa, Latin America, South Asia). Covers 1800-1922.

World Politics Review provides news and analysis of critical global trends for policymakers, business people and academics.

This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.