Public Health Databases

An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools such as Diagnosaurus ®, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.

Covers the agriculture literature and related fields published in books, technical reports, journals, theses, patents, software, and audio-visual materials.

Search full text of Annual Reviews covering the biomedical, physical and social sciences, and economics.

This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.

With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

BMJ Journals publish medical titles in specialist clinical areas, public health and evidence-based medicine.

Provides international coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

Canary Database is a compilation of curated peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards. This database contains information added by trained curators in addition to bibliographic records from MEDLINE and other well-known databases. The database includes studies of wildlife, companion, and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect could be considered potentially relevant to human health.

Contains Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one interface with access to over 1100 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Register on ClinicalKey's home page for personal username/password in order to access pdfs of ebook chapters and to use personalized features.

DART-Europe provides access to European research theses from 360+ universities in 20 European countries.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Tufts University.

DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool for physicians and other medical professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. It contains overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, direct links to article references in full text, and mobile access. It is updated multiple times daily to insure currency. Integrated Micromedex content provides resources to help better inform prescription decisions, medication management strategies and treatment decisions as a result of lab tests in the course of patient care.

Created and maintained by the US Department of Agriculture this is the major source of food composition data in the United States. It provides the foundation for most food composition databases in the public and private sectors. Contains data on 6,220 food items and up to 117 food components. The database is downloadable via the USDA web site; files required to search the databases are also available for download.

Gale Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text articles are available in both PDF and HTML. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information, including: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.; current year plus previous 4 years.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the international public-health literature, particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety, nutrition policy, and epidemiology.

GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management, a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene.

Comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE database, Ovid's HealthStar contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, community health and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.

Significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this database.

IPA (Ingenuity Pathways Analysis) is a curated database and analysis system that allows researchers to search, analyze and graphically view molecular interactions, biological functions and diseases.

Summaries for over 800 diseases, conditions and wellness topics as well as the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the-counter medications.

This collection includes 23 current and archival newspaper databases.

Provides web access to more than 100 major Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works in the humanities, social sciences, foreign languages, science, technology and medicine, the performing arts, and religion. Works can be searched separately or across the entire databases. Includes over 1.5 million entries.

Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. It includes consumer demographics, market trends and nutrition data that allows users to examine the total amount of nutrients purchased through packaged food and soft drink products worldwide.

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

This PubMed link provides access to NCBI's databases with links out to articles licensed by Tufts. Its MEDLINE content contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of journals licensed or owned by Tufts is available via blue Tufts print and electronic icons on its Abstract display below each citation. PubMed links to free full text and to Tufts' holdings appear to the right of the search results.

Full text access to selected health sciences book content.

Readers' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

A database of approximately 2000 full text journal titles published by Elsevier covering the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

Searchable database of drug compendia, and medical and dental textbooks.

This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Clinical reference tool that provides current answers to patient care, diagnosis and treatment questions at the point of care. Over 200 journals are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews by clinical experts. The content is peer reviewed and fully referenced.

Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS. A subset of the Biological Science Database.

Search across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.

WorldCat is a catalog of materials held by libraries worldwide, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, musical scores, videos, manuscripts, and maps.