Science Databases

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Academic Video Online delivers almost 70,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.

An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools such as Diagnosaurus ®, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.

AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection features basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen realistic patient cases.

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is a comprehensive online resource for learning and teaching human anatomy. It contains videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in real life, providing a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.

A resource for bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full text for ACM periodicals (1985-) and proceedings (1991-).

Basic research journals in the field of chemistry, also includes some technoeconomic titles such as Chemical and Engineering News.

The ACS Symposium Series contains peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.

This collection, which includes the Aerospace Database, provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of advanced technology literature from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Topics covered include aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer science and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.

This collection of journals provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage in the fields on advanced technologies & aerospace spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.

This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.

Covers the agriculture literature and related fields published in books, technical reports, journals, theses, patents, software, and audio-visual materials.

This database includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more

ProQuest Agriculture Journals contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. It covers a wide range of agriculture-related topics, such as animal and veterinary sciences, plant sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, forestry farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and food and human nutrition. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation, and Plant Physiology.

Subjects:

Provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Civil Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers International, International Society for Optical Engineering, and other science and engineering societies. Covers physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, materials science, mathematics and associated disciplines.

Focus is on indexing the literature pertaining to algae, fungi, protozoa, lichens; covers reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection/immunity.

Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.

Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. This bibliography is produced from MEDLINE database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Altweb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond.

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.

Analytical Abstracts (also known as Analytical WebBase) is a current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Search the worldwide analytical literature from 1980 until the latest update.

Subjects:

This 3D model of human anatomy by Anatomy.TV includes sections for the head and neck, thorax and abdomen, spine and joints, functional anatomy as well as dentistry and dental hygiene. Users may drill down through layers of musculature, neurovascular supply to the skeleton, each with accompanying text focused on the cursor. Its Anatomy Trains segment presents a unique 'longitudinal' view of myofascial anatomy.

Indexes papers in animal behavior from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and applied ethology.

Database with searching capabilities of animal taxonomic names with access to old zoological literature including all zoological taxa described between 1757 and 1764. Links to the digital editions of taxonomic literature including various editions of Linnæus. The project has various collaborators that may add information to the database. Service is provided by the Zoological Institute of the University of Göttingen, Germany.

This database contains a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.

This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.

The focus is on basic and applied research on aquatic organisms with particular attention to fisheries.

Policy resources for managing all aspects of oceanography: chemical, geological and biological.

This database is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists, environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers, corporate regulatory affairs managers and government officials.

This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species. With the extensive information resources of the international ASFA partnership behind it, ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts provides specific, unparalleled coverage of the planned management of aquatic organisms.

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts is the one database that assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Provides access to abstracts and periodicals in aquatic science in full-text and image formats.

Information about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.

A database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. Owned, operated and funded by Cornell University.

This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.

Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 2 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.

With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Offers online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals plus full text.

This database includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text sources from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology's cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

An aggregation of research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by small societies, and non commercial publishers.

Issued as a part of the Web of science, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. BIOSIS also combines the content from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.

This database provides article abstracts on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.

Birds of the World is a research database that brings together scholarly content from four major works of ornithology [Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World], millions of bird observations from eBird, and multimedia content from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Birds of the World presents a vast array of information about every species, subspecies, and family of the world's birds. Accounts include images, sounds, and videos as well as illustrations, maps, animations, and authoritative text from all of the component projects.

Fully indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books in the sciences.

A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors

Britannica Image Quest is an online file of more than two million rights-cleared images from some 40 image collections. Complete metadata, which includes the source, copyright holder, caption, and keywords, is provided for every image.

Provides current access to international coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

Provides international coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

This database assembles pertinent information from wide-ranging sources, reflecting the multi-disciplinary nature of calcium research.

The world repository of small molecule crystal structures.

Canary Database is a compilation of curated peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards. This database contains information added by trained curators in addition to bibliographic records from MEDLINE and other well-known databases. The database includes studies of wildlife, companion, and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect could be considered potentially relevant to human health.

This database is a comprehensive resource for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books and press releases.

Software providing specialized tools for drawing structures, reactions and reaction mechanisms. You must set up a ChemDraw account using your Tufts email in order to download the software.

Subjects:

Drawing from the literature on neurobiology, chemistry, physiology of taste, and chemotaxis this database covers topics on single transduction, receptors, channels, and neurogenetics.

This collection consists of essential documents on the promulgation and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands.

Contains Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one interface with access to over 1100 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Register on ClinicalKey's home page for personal username/password in order to access pdfs of ebook chapters and to use personalized features.

CogNet provides a collection of searchable electronic texts for the cognitive and brain sciences containing works from the MIT Press, as well as information on new research, job listings, discussion groups and information on seminars and lectures.

Compendex is the online version of Engineering Index. It covers all of the literature in engineering, but is particularly good for civil, mechanical, and chemical engineering. For standard access a password is not required. For enhanced service providing personalization, alerting, and search history, you will need to create an account with a password.

This bibliographic database provides comprehensive index to world literature on computers and software, including software engineering, artificial intelligence, mathematical modeling and computer simulation, Internet applications, e-commerce, multimedia information systems, user interfaces and information systems in such applications as library science, health care and engineering.

Multidisciplinary coverage of the world's conference literature in the Sciences.

Subjects:

This database encompasses all aspects of copper, its alloys and its compounds. From mining and extractive metallurgy, to antimicrobial properties, to use of copper in semiconductors, this database gathers information from academic journals, conferences and trade literature.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on corrosion science and engineering, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance and equipment for many industries.

Online reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form. Examples of titles are: Bloomsbury Guide to Art, Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Columbia Encyclopedia, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. The complete list of titles is available on the CREDO Reference site.

Current Chemical Reactions contains single- and multi-step new synthetic methods taken from leading journals and patents from 39 issuing authorities. The overall reaction flow is provided for each method, along with a detailed and accurate graphical representation of each reaction step. Current Chemical Reactions (1985 - present) contains more than 880,000 reactions. It is updated by 3,000 reactions each month. The database contains an additional 140,000 reactions from the prestigious Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle, dating back to the 1800's.

Subjects:

A Web of Science current awareness database with a multidisciplinary focus, covering over 8,000 of the world's scholarly journals grouped into the following broad disciplinary areas: Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences; Art & Humanities; Clinical Medicine; Engineering, Computing & Technology; Life Sciences; Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences; Social & Behavioral Sciences. Also included is access to ISI Current Web Contents.

DART-Europe provides access to European research theses from 360+ universities in 20 European countries.

More than 60 titles offering a wide variety of content covering humanities, medicine, the sciences and law.

A Web of Science resource for patent literature from 40 patent issuing authorities. Uses the ISI search interface and links forward in time to citing patents and backwards in time to cited patents. Coverage from some source patents begins in 1963.

The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Ingredients of dietary supplements are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases such as MedlinePlus and PubMed to allow users to understand the characteristics.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Tufts University.

This database is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

A database of free, full text, quality controlled scholarly journals in a broad range of subjects and languages. There are over 3,000 journals in the directory, with almost half searchable at article level.

The Earth, atmospheric & aquatic science database includes the renowned Aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic abstracts, and Meteorological & geoastrophysical abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth's air, land, and water environments.

Provides access to abstracts and periodicals in atmospheric science in full-text and image formats.

This database is the essence of current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

The Emerging sources citation index on Web of science complements the Science citation index expanded, Social sciences citation index, and Arts & Humanities citation index by providing earlier visibility for sources under evaluation. ESCI enables discovery of publications of regional importance and in emerging research fields.

Subjects:

The premier index for the engineering literature, EV provides citations for articles, conference proceedings, selected patents, and other materials dating back to the 1880s. Comprises Compendex and Inspec and includes Knovel-driven Equations and links to related Scopus records.

This database provides a practical means for researchers to keep up with the field. All recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology are assembled here, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans and terrestrial isopods.

Provides a limited search of environment abstracts within the ProQuest Environmental Science Index.

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Includes coverage from 1940s, as well as full text for over 650 journals.

Provides citations and abstracts to the literatures of scientific research and government policymaking. Topics are covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. Material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field. Major areas of coverage include air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management, land pollution, toxicology and health, noise, radiation, environmental action.

Europe PMC is a database of abstracts and indices of life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Full-text access to some content may be available.

FARAD is part of the Food Animal Residue Avoidance & Depletion Program. FARAD is supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and staffed by veterinary pharmacologists, toxicologists and food animal specialists from University of California-Davis, University of Florida, North Carolina State University, Virginia-Maryland and Kansas State University. FARAD provides open access to comprehensive up-to-date information and data resources for food animal drugs. FARAD provides science-based estimates of safe withdrawal intervals for food-producing animal species that have been treated with or exposed to drugs or other chemicals.

The FirstSearch platform provides access to ArticleFirst, ECO, and WorldCat.

Gale Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text articles are available in both PDF and HTML. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Gale in Context: Middle School is a cross-disciplinary database aimed at middle school students that includes literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. A visual interface design and navigation preferred by younger users is combined with user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework. Gale's reference content includes age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.

Gale in Context: Science features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Gale PowerSearch platform offers comprehensive access to authoritative reference, periodical and primary source information.

The GBIF global biodiversity information facility facilitates digitization and global dissemination of primary biodiversity data, so that people from all countries can benefit from the use of the information. This web site provides information about the current state of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), an international initiative.

This database provides a practical means for keeping up with wide-ranging findings that are important to scientist's own studies, sifting the worldwide literature for significant advances as they happen and forging an essential link among different systems. All areas of genetics are covered from microbes to plants to humans; molecular genetics, DNA, protein synthesis, ribosomes, enzymes and gene regulation.

This database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

The GeoRef In Process database contains records that are in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently. GeoRef In Process does NOT contain the most current records and should not be confused with a database of Recent References. In Process records may lack a few fields or contain minimal data in some fields. It is recommended that you select both the GeoRef and GeoRef In Process to perform the most comprehensive search.

GeoScienceWorld is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index. The organization gives researchers a single point of access to 46 full-text scholarly journals plus books, datasets, maps, tables, images, and theses.

Capturing ecological, social, and public health crises, these documentaries bring the neglected stories of marginalized communities to light.

Global Plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.

Includes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research. Contains full text links to a few of Tufts subscribed databases such as Pubmed and scholarly articles that are available anywhere across the web.

GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository with over 10 million volumes including content digitized via the Google Books project, Internet Archive, and by local libraries. Public domain content is full-text; non-public domain content (post-1923) is for full-text searching only. Since Tufts is a member, those with a Tufts login can download the pdf of pre-1923 materials and can build a personal collection. To login select Collections, then select login from the upper right; choose Tufts University and login using your Tufts username and password.

This database integrates four bibliographiesthe Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. The History of STM database includes citations for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.

This database offers a comprehensive source for developments and promising applications emerging from international genome research, including the massive Human Genome Project.

IEEE Xplore digital library provides full-text access to IEEE, IET & IEE journals, conferences and standards, as well as Wiley-IEEE Press e-books and standards, and MIT Press e-books.

This database of electronic books published by the IET provides access to just over 300 full-text electronic books across 12 specialist disciplines, covering all key areas of engineering and technology.

Covering a multidisciplinary selection of journals from around the world, this in-depth analytical tool offers data for ranking authors, institutions, nations, and journals.

Subjects:

Index Chemicus contains the structures and critical supporting data for novel organic compounds reported in leading international journals. In addition, many full records in the database show the reaction flow from starting material to final product. Index Chemicus is a vital source of new information on biologically active compounds and natural products.

Subjects:

Significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this database.

IPA (Ingenuity Pathways Analysis) is a curated database and analysis system that allows researchers to search, analyze and graphically view molecular interactions, biological functions and diseases.

INSPEC is the leading database for the world's literature in physics, electrical and electronics engineering, computing, and information technology. It corresponds to the print publications Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronic Abstracts, and Computer and Control Abstracts.

The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a specialist bibliography of African Studies and contains 140,000 entries of the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015 and about 4,000 new publications will be added per year. The IABO can be browsed by categories and offers detailed search options.

A resource for citation data in the sciences (5,000 journals) and social sciences(1,500 journals) showing the relationship between citing and cited journals.

Video textbooks which explain concepts taught in undergraduate courses through high-impact animations and real-life experiments.

JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments is an online video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments. This resource enables scientists in academia and biotech to learn new experiments and research technologies.

An all-in-one solution for teaching undergraduate lab courses through comprehensive and curriculum-focused videos for both instructors and students.

JoVE Science Education is a video collection dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.

Kanopy is a service providing streaming videos for educational purposes. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.

The KCI Korean Journal Database on the Web of Science lets researchers around the world discover new insights from research emanating from South Korea while making connections to the broader research landscape for a more complete global picture.

Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Knovel is an extensive collection of technical e-books for engineers and applied scientists, and has interactive charts, tables, graphs, equations and information on best practices.

Descriptive collection of critically assessed data in all fields of physical chemistry. Content is listed in 3 main groups, from all fields of physics, physical chemistry, geophysics, astonomy and biophysics. Special indexes allow for fast orientation either from the substance or property side. The data collection provides access to more than 387 volumes within the New Series.

Its drug monographs can be searched by keyword. Pills and other pharmaceuticals can be identified by shape, color and markings. Detailed color photographs, drawings, and radiographs are included. The following works and topics can also be browsed: Dental-Office Medical Emergencies, Natural Therapeutics, Clinicians Endodontic Handbook, Oral Soft- and Hard-Tissue Diseases, Manual of Dental Implants, Manual of Clinical Periodontics, Oral Surgery for the General Dentist, and Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry.

Official drug reference of the American Pharmaceutical Association. Includes Lexi-Drugs Online, Lexi-Drugs International Online, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs Online, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs Online, Lexi-Natural Products Online, Nursing Lexi-Drugs Online, Drug Induced Nutrient Depletion, Infectious Diseases, Poisoning & Toxicology, Laboratory Tests, Diagnostic Procedures.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.

Library Stack is a living collection of independent ebooks, audio files, videos and digital documents being published within the fields of contemporary art, design, media studies, cinema, architecture and philosophy.

Indexing and abstracts of more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s for some publications.

This database contains full text access to selected biomedical and basic science books and multimedia assets.

The collection includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text sources and expert indexing of global literature, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, books, dissertations and theses, and government and official publications.

Provides research and communications on the field of materials science, materials properties, and applications. The database focuses on a wide range of topics related to the multidisciplinary study of materials science, including applications of metals, alloys, polymers, composites, and ceramics.

The collection contains materials science related abstracts and full-text articles.

Published by the American Mathematical Society (AMS), MathSciNet serves as the online version of Mathematical Reviews (MR), a major index of the mathematical literature. The index covers books, journals, and conference proceedings and applies the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) system. The AMS platform provides the quickest links to full-text as well as access to special AMS tools for citation analysis. This same index may also be searched with the EBSCO interface at https://www.library.tufts.edu/ezproxy/ezproxy.asp?LOCATION=MathSciNetEB….

Subjects:

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the Ovid interface.

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the ProQuest interface.

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the Web of Science interface.

This database is the only comprehensive materials science research solution providing indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles. It currently includes millions of records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Materials covered include steels, metals, alloys, compounds and metal matrix composites.

This database includes records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.

RED BOOK™ is the essential resource healthcare professionals reach for every day to find the latest information for prescription and over-the-counter products. RED BOOK reduces the need to conduct redundant searches and simplifies identification, analysis, and comparison of drug and non-drug products.

Website for the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), which is responsible for building, maintaining, and distributing GenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database that collects all known DNA sequences from scientists worldwide. Focuses on biomedical and genomic information.

The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical and health sciences students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation, USMLE (National Board) preparation, etc.

An online image bank of Dr. Netter's classic anatomy & pathology illustrations along with many diagnostic imaging examples.

This database contains perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies.

O'Reilly Safari Books Online is a fully-searchable e-reference library housing a collection of technical books that cover the technologies most essential to users including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. Users are able to search hundreds of books simultaneously online. To Access: In the Institution drop-down list, choose the first option. “Not listed. Click here”. You will then be asked to enter your Tufts email for access.

Provides citations and abstracts to the international technical literature on marine and brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Major areas of coverage include biological oceanography, ecology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation and communications, maritime law, desalination, ships, shipping, marine biology.

OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative database that features catalogs of autosomal dominant, autosomal recessive, x-linked, y-linked, and mitochondrial phenotypes. Includes information on human genes and genetic disorders. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes.

Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations.

An aggregate of databases with access to full text journals and books providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Veterinary medicine, Nursing, Allied health and Dentistry. Includes EBM Reviews (ACP Journal Club and Evidence-based medicine), CDSR (Cochrane Database of systematic reviews), DARE (Database of abstracts of effectiveness), CAB Abstracts, Global Health, HealthSTAR, Pre-Medline, Medline, Books@Ovid, and a collection of journals.

Full-text access and searching of Oxford University Press journals.

Provides web access to more than 100 major Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works in the humanities, social sciences, foreign languages, science, technology and medicine, the performing arts, and religion. Works can be searched separately or across the entire databases. Includes over 1.5 million entries.

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

Pivot is the product of the merger of RefWorks, which began as a web-based research management, writing and collaboration tool, with COS (a ProQuest brand), which provides tools for discovering funding opportunities and supporting collaboration in the research development field.

Portico provides perpetual access to journal titles subscribed to by Tufts University.

A collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.

Provides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

The Protocol Exchange is an Open Repository for the deposition and sharing of protocols for scientific research. These protocols are posted directly on the Protocol Exchange by their authors and hence have not been further styled, peer reviewed or copy edited. Rather they are made freely available to the scientific community for use and comment.

Subjects:

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

This PubMed link provides access to NCBI's databases with links out to articles licensed by Tufts. Its MEDLINE content contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of journals licensed or owned by Tufts is available via blue Tufts print and electronic icons on its Abstract display below each citation. PubMed links to free full text and to Tufts' holdings appear to the right of the search results.

Readers' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

Readers' Guide Retrospective contains indexing of over 600 titles between 1890 and 1992.

Includes both primary and review journals covering all branches of chemistry.

Subjects:

In collaboration with the Scientific Electronic Library (eLibrary.RU), the Russian Science Citation Index on Web of Science enables discovery of new insights from Russian publications. It provides access to bibliographic information and citations to scholarly articles from Russian researchers in over 500 science, technology, medical, and education journals.

Research journals in Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities.

Provides research support for both the applied and general sciences, with access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements. Covers topics relating to major fields of study, including physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences, and chemistry.

Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry.

Subjects:

A database of approximately 2000 full text journal titles published by Elsevier covering the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. It provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS, which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service; and to MEDLINE, which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered include over 10,000 journals, patents from over 60 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. 15 million PatentPak PDFs are included, as well as 5 million synthetic protocols. SciFinder provides researchers with improved searching functionality and additional tools to analyze and manipulate retrieved data sets. Registration is required to use this database.

SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. It provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS, which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service; and to MEDLINE, which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered include over 10,000 journals, patents from over 60 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. 15 million PatentPak PDFs are included, as well as 5 million synthetic protocols. SciFinder-n provides researchers with improved searching functionality and additional tools to analyze and manipulate retrieved data sets. Registration is required to use this database

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

A collection of searchable, full-text titles published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

Compiled and edited between 1773 and 1782, by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (Complete Library of Four Treasures) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics, and more.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all aspects of theory, production and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology. A subset of the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database.

Collection of resources available on optics and photonics, providing access to over 150 books and more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present.

A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods. It brings together content from SpringerProtocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and Protocol Exchange.

Electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiles protocols from Humanas book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.

SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Bornstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering.

Standard Methods includes hundreds of analytical techniques for the determination of water quality.

Searchable database of drug compendia, and medical and dental textbooks.

This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. A subset of the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.

The Synthesis eBook Collections, formerly the Synthesis Collection of Technology, provides coverage of leading edge topics across the fields of Engineering and Computer Science. Books in this collection are based on techniques, reviews and course notes and defined as “lectures”. These are short, focused books, consisting of around 75-150 pages, bridging the gap between a journal article and an average book. These books tend to have rapid development cycles, publishing research on hot topics as soon as these emerge.

Provides full-text access to articles from all journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.

The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database, and the Materials Science & Engineering Database. It features full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

The Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is an image database containing all of the images from Thieme's top educational Anatomy titles. This tool allows users to customize images and create presentations.

This database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. A subset of the Biological Science Database.

This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Ulrichs is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all typesacademic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.

UPSO provides access to e-book content from leading university presses in the fields of biology, math, neuroscience, physics and law.

Vet-Library is a library specialized in animal science and related areas. It is mainly focused on Veterinary practice, Basic sciences, and Research.

Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS. A subset of the Biological Science Database.

This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. A subset of the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.

Search across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

Search leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and art and humanities. All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.

Web of Science Data Citation Index allows researchers to search and assess research data from data repositories across disciplines and around the world.

SciELO Citation Index is a database index of open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects covered include: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.

Science Citation Index Expanded, accessed via Web of Science, provides quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings. Searches essential data from over 6,650 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines.

Subjects:

Provides full-text access to 300+ journals published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered include: Business, Finance & Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Education, Engineering, Law, Life & Medical Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics and Psychology.

This online collection of World Bank publications covers a broad range of global topics and issues including climate change, public health, conflict and security, education, jobs, and migration, international economics and finance.

WorldCat is a catalog of materials held by libraries worldwide, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, musical scores, videos, manuscripts, and maps.

WorldCat Discovery is a catalog of materials held by libraries worldwide, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, musical scores, videos, manuscripts, and maps. In addition, it provides location and availability information for items held at Tufts University.

Web of Science Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.

Find Databases By Another Subject