Sociology Databases

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.

Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues.

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.

This collection enables students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more. This unique fully-searchable collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

A portal to several resources in black studies (African American Studies, African Studies, and Diaspora Studies) including essays from Schomberg Studies on the Black Experience, indexes and full-text from black journals and periodicals covered by the International Index to Black Periodicals, the Marshall Index (formerly A Guide to Negro Periodical Literature), and the Black Literature Index. Also includes the full-text of the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1912-1975.

Bloomsbury Food Library is a home to a wide-ranging collection of interdisciplinary food studies content, with subjects in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. Bloomsbury Food Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

This database offers full-page images from the Boston Globe from 2008 to three months ago. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable.

History of technology | 1920-1980 CE | Personal papers of David Sarnoff, industry papers.

An index and abstracting resource with considerable full-text. It incorporates the content of CommSearch & Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

This HeinOnline database provides access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports, and scholarly articles organized into the following areas of impact: Economics, Global impact, Health, and Society.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

The Criminology Collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, and legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. The collection includes the Criminal Justice Database, a full-text and index database supporting research on crime geared towards scholars and career criminal justice professionals. It also includes National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, which indexes research on criminal justice. The collection includes further index and full-text coverage of scholarly journals along with correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs, and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.

Data Planet provides access to several thousand different national and international standardized datasets; the data can be displayed in charts, graphs, maps, and tables, as well as exported for further manipulation. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. The data now includes U.S. Political Stats.

This free resource is a linked research knowledge system that brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents. Please note that free access may be limited to researchers studying COVID-19 and related topics from a scientometrics perspective. Visit the Dimensions Support desk at https://dimensions.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/23000020558 for more information.

Docuseek2 is the internet site where colleges, universities, and other educational institutions can discover, access, license, stream and share amongst their students, faculty and staff, the best documentary and social issues films and videos available.

An expanding source of letters, diaries and other accounts of early encounters between Europeans and Native Americans from the mid-1600s through the mid 1800s. This resource is fully indexed and can be searched in a wide variety of ways, and should be of interest to historians, anthropologists and environmental scientists.

Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch resource, incorporating both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource containing classic and contemporary documentaries for the visual study of human culture and behavior.

This bibliographic database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Electronic version of Gale's print reference directories; cross-searchable with links to related web sites and email addresses.

Gallup Analytics provides access to trended data for the U.S. back to the 1930's and a decade of data from more than 160 countries. It includes data sources from Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking, and Gallup Brain.

This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States: citations to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, and other material in more than 500 international social science and humanities journals, published from 1970 to the present. Many citations are linked to full-text.

Independent Voices provides access to over 1,000 titles from magazines, journals, and newspapers drawn from alternative presses published in the 1960s-1980s. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Inside Philanthropy offers in-depth analyses of foundations and major individual donors found anywhere, along with updates on grants and funding trends. Please contact library staff at liberm@tufts.edu to set up an account.

ICPSR provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction. Data files are raw data, not in report format, and are used with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. There is a tutorial on the site and a Tufts University contact is listed to help with downloading.

Social history, culture, entertainment, fashion | 1919-1939 CE | Periodicals.

JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.

Indexing and abstracts of more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s for some publications.

Social history, maritime history | 1600-1900 CE | Journals, memoirs, court records.

The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.

This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.

Nexis Uni contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

O'Reilly Safari Books Online is a fully-searchable e-reference library housing a collection of technical books that cover the technologies most essential to users including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. Users are able to search hundreds of books simultaneously online. To Access: In the Institution drop-down list, choose the first option. “Not listed. Click here”. You will then be asked to enter your Tufts email for access.

OECD iLibrary provides online access to Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) resources, covering trade, environment, agriculture, technology, economic development, and more. The books, reports, working papers and periodicals are full-text and the databases have extensive statistical information.

Provides full text searchable archives for journals of opinion, such as The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, Dissent, NACLA, American spectator, National review, Harper's magazine, New York review, and the New Yorker. Covers domestic and international politics, arts and culture from leading authors, poets, journalists, and statesmen.

The Oxford African American Studies Center is a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

High-level overviews of scholarship written by top names in the field get researchers and faculty up to speed quickly on topics beyond an area of expertise.

An easy-to-use web-based Geographic Information System (GIS), use Policy Map to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.

Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.

The iPOLL Databank from the Roper Center Public Opinion Research Archives focuses on national scope surveys and contains not only the complete question text and responses to half a million questions from as far back as 1935, but also information such as study abstracts, links to questionnaires, datasets and citation information where available.

Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for social science journals covering anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

The ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection combines discipline specific collections in politics and sociology with resources that cut across the entire spectrum of the social sciences. This Collection enriches the discipline by providing more coverage on applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.

This collection, which includes Applied social sciences index and abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, and Sociology Database, provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. It covers the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields.

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, and substance abuse and addiction. Provides full-text coverage of scholarly journals and doctoral dissertations on sociology.

Statistical Insight allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications. Statistical DataSets is a web-based tool that allows you to create easy-to-export charts, tables, and graphs from several million different data points. Data sources include government information like census data, as well as licensed data sets.

TRAC provides researchers in the fields of terrorism studies, political science, international relations, sociology, criminal justice, philosophy and history with content that provides comprehensive data and analysis for complex topics.

Begun in the late 19th century, the Gerritsen Collection represents books and periodicals tracing the development of feminist consciousness through 4 centuries and 15 languages. The Collection is one of the most important single sources in the study of women's history.

Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.