Browse Databases - B

BabelScores selects the works of the most creative, original and innovative composers of the past few decades, offering a wide catalogue and setting up a powerful circulation platform addressed to instrumentalists, ensembles, orchestras, composers, musicologists, conservatories, universities and festivals throughout the world.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, Public Health, Biochemistry, Science, Biological Sciences

A searchable database of full-text and full-image newspaper articles published in: the Afro-American (Baltimore, Md. : 1892), the Afro-American Ledger (Baltimore, Md.), and the Afro-American (Baltimore, Md. : 1915). This ProQuest historical newspaper provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History

The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). It currently comprises 50,000 titles from 1958 to 2009, i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the famous bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Every reference has been fully classified by date, subject and location, and provides full bibliographical records. The disciplines to which the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is relevant include all aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and so forth in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is fully integrated with the International medieval bibliography: users can either search the bibliographical records of articles (IMB) and monographs (BCM) simultaneously, or select only one of the two bibliographies.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Civilization, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, subject, country, keyword and ISSN.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Asian Studies

The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

The Bielefelder Katalog Klassik is the most comprehensive reference work in German-speaking countries for classical music. Sophisticated and extensive search options make it possible to search for and find artists, composers and works down to track level.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Chemistry

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Chemistry

Offers online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals plus full text.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Biology, Biological Sciences

This database includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text sources from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology's cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology

This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Neurosciences

An aggregation of research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by small societies, and non commercial publishers.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Environmental Sciences, Ecology

Issued as a part of the Web of science, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. BIOSIS also combines the content from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology

This database provides article abstracts on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biotechnology

Birds of the World is a research database that brings together scholarly content from four major works of ornithology [Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World], millions of bird observations from eBird, and multimedia content from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Birds of the World presents a vast array of information about every species, subspecies, and family of the world's birds. Accounts include images, sounds, and videos as well as illustrations, maps, animations, and authoritative text from all of the component projects.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology

The index to the Black Literature microfiche collection. This index allows users to search bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry, and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities

A portal to several resources in black studies (African American Studies, African Studies, and Diaspora Studies) including essays from Schomberg Studies on the Black Experience, indexes and full-text from black journals and periodicals covered by the International Index to Black Periodicals, the Marshall Index (formerly A Guide to Negro Periodical Literature), and the Black Literature Index. Also includes the full-text of the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1912-1975.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Sociology, History

Black Studies in Video includes streaming access to seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience in the United States. Highlights include footage from the 50th anniversary reunion celebrating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, documentaries of major black figures (e.g. Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton), and the Hatch-Billops Collection on black American art, drama, and literature.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Art, Language and Literature, Drama

A collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Provides up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Coverage includes equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Commerce, Finance, Statistics, Management, Business

Bloomsbury Food Library is a home to a wide-ranging collection of interdisciplinary food studies content, with subjects in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. Bloomsbury Food Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Languages and Literature, Biology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Human Geography, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Geography, History, Political Science, Sociology

BMJ Best Practice is a point-of-care database developed by the BMJ Evidence Centre. It draws on the latest evidence to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Clinical Medicine, Diseases

BMJ Journals publish medical titles in specialist clinical areas, public health and evidence-based medicine.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Internal Medicine, Environment and Public Health, Public Health