Browse Databases - G

Gale Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text articles are available in both PDF and HTML. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Subjects: Science, Medicine, Public Health, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences

A comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Resources include sample business plans from the Business Plans Handbook series, how-to guides, articles, books, business journals, and websites.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Management, Business

Electronic version of Gale's print reference directories; cross-searchable with links to related web sites and email addresses.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Sociology, Associations and Institutions, Social Sciences, Sociology, Communication and Media, Social Sciences, Management, Business

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Science

A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Public Health, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This consumer health resource provides information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Diagnostic and Therapeutic Techniques, Health Sciences, Diseases, Health Sciences, Medicine, Health Sciences, Nursing, Health Sciences, Pharmacology

Gale in Context: Biography offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure researchers have access to the very latest information.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues and includes sources such as topic summaries, scholarly articles, statistics, conference proceedings, news and magazine articles, podcasts, videos, industry reports, and consumer data.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Natural Resources

Gale in Context: Global Issues focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues, such as genocide in Darfur, product safety of Chinese imports, sectarian violence in Iraq, changing weather patterns across the globe, and disaster recovery in Indonesia and New Orleans.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations, World Politics, Social Sciences, Political Science, Human Rights, Social Sciences, Political Science

Gale in Context: Middle School is a cross-disciplinary database aimed at middle school students that includes literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. A visual interface design and navigation preferred by younger users is combined with user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework. Gale's reference content includes age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Science, Social Sciences

Gale in Context: Science features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Subjects: Science, Earth Sciences, Science, Biological Sciences, Science, Physical Sciences, Science, Technology, Science, Mathematics

Gale in Context: U.S. History is an online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Gale in Context: World History is an online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Biographical information, excerpts from critical essays, and bibliographies on major dramatists from all eras. International in scope. Access includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Gale OneFile: Business provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Industries, Social Sciences, Management, Business

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and different educational specialties--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Education

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information, including: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.; current year plus previous 4 years.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Diseases, Public Health, Health Sciences, Medicine

A full-text database collection of over 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, local, and international newspapers; updated daily. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Gale PowerSearch platform offers comprehensive access to authoritative reference, periodical and primary source information.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science

Gale Primary Sources combines a number of primary source collections in the humanities and social sciences to allow for research across several centuries and millions of pages of newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Gallup Analytics provides access to trended data for the U.S. back to the 1930's and a decade of data from more than 160 countries. It includes data sources from Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking, and Gallup Brain.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Social Sciences Research, Public Opinion Polls, Social Sciences, Sociology, Social Sciences, Political Science

The GBIF global biodiversity information facility facilitates digitization and global dissemination of primary biodiversity data, so that people from all countries can benefit from the use of the information. This web site provides information about the current state of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), an international initiative.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences, Ecology, Science, Environmental Sciences

This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Women's Studies, Social Sciences, Sociology

This database provides a practical means for keeping up with wide-ranging findings that are important to scientist's own studies, sifting the worldwide literature for significant advances as they happen and forging an essential link among different systems. All areas of genetics are covered from microbes to plants to humans; molecular genetics, DNA, protein synthesis, ribosomes, enzymes and gene regulation.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences