Browse Databases - M

British history | 1957-1963 CE | Official records from Harold Macmillan's tenure as British Prime minister.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Cornell's collection provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles from 22 journals.

Subjects:

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Michigan's collection provides access to 9,500 books and almost 2500 digitized issues of 12 journals published in the 19th century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies

Full-text searching of mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, published from 1450 through 1914. This collection covers social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization, and the birth of the modern corporation - tracking the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, History, Political Science

Mango is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation and grammar skills for real communication. Each course integrates the comprehensive Intuitive Language Construction Methodology, with intuitive content structure and imagery, making it easy to learn and fun to use.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

American history, economic history | 1935-1965 CE | Correspondence, memos, market research reports, and business records.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Economics

Video lectures on hundreds of topics relating to marketing and business management.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Management, Business, Industrial Management

British history, social history | 1937-1960 CE | Diaries, field reports, and surveys from Mass Observation Organization.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

British history, social history | 1981-2009 CE | Documents from the University of Sussex revival of the Mass Observation Organization.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

The collection includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text sources and expert indexing of global literature, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, books, dissertations and theses, and government and official publications.

Subjects: Engineering, Materials Science, Science, Physical Sciences

Provides research and communications on the field of materials science, materials properties, and applications. The database focuses on a wide range of topics related to the multidisciplinary study of materials science, including applications of metals, alloys, polymers, composites, and ceramics.

Subjects: Engineering, Materials Science, Science, Physical Sciences

The collection contains materials science related abstracts and full-text articles.

Subjects: Engineering, Materials Science, Science, Physical Sciences

Published by the American Mathematical Society (AMS), MathSciNet serves as the online version of Mathematical Reviews (MR), a major index of the mathematical literature. The index covers books, journals, and conference proceedings and applies the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) system. The AMS platform provides the quickest links to full-text as well as access to special AMS tools for citation analysis. This same index may also be searched with the EBSCO interface at https://www.library.tufts.edu/ezproxy/ezproxy.asp?LOCATION=MathSciNetEBSCO.

Subjects: Science, Mathematics

The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Sociology, Ethnic Relations, Communication and Media, Anthropology, Education, Psychology

History of war | 1845-2001 CE | Hospital reports, medical reports, personal narratives, pamphlets, maps, and film.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Heath Sciences, History of Medicine

This resource is the largest online collection of classical music, operas and ballets in the world. Discover live broadcasts from prestigious venues and archived concerts, artist portraits, documentaries, and education programs. Compare different interpretations of the same work and explore composers, artists, periods, and genres.Medici.tv specializes in high definition video of classical music, available on the internet, mobile, tablets and connected tvs. Over 1,400 programs, concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films, and artist profiles may be streamed anytime. Over 100 concerts are broadcast live each year, in collaboration with prestigious performers, concert halls and festivals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music, Dance

Medieval history | 1400-1499 CE | Color images of manuscripts and transcripts of manuscripts.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Medieval history | 1200-1700 CE | Manuscript materials.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the Ovid interface.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Dentistry, Veterinary Medicine, Medicine, Science, Biological Sciences

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the ProQuest interface.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Dentistry, Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, Science, Biological Sciences

Search the Medline database, the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) database of citations and abstracts to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, through the use of the Web of Science interface.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Dentistry, Veterinary Medicine, Medicine, Science, Biological Sciences

Summaries for over 800 diseases, conditions and wellness topics as well as the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the-counter medications.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Internal Medicine, Dentistry, Public Health

Japanese history | 1858-1925 CE | Papers, diaries, correspondence, drawings, scrapbooks, and manuscripts.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

This database is the only comprehensive materials science research solution providing indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles. It currently includes millions of records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Materials covered include steels, metals, alloys, compounds and metal matrix composites.

Subjects: Engineering, Materials Science, Science, Physical Sciences

This database includes records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.

Subjects: Science, Earth Sciences, Meteorology, Physical Sciences, Astronomy, Environmental Sciences, Aquatic Sciences

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

RED BOOK™ is the essential resource healthcare professionals reach for every day to find the latest information for prescription and over-the-counter products. RED BOOK reduces the need to conduct redundant searches and simplifies identification, analysis, and comparison of drug and non-drug products.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Pharmacology, Science, Biological Sciences

Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations, Economics, Political Science

The Middle East and Africa Database (or MIDA) is a bibliographic and full-text database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America. This is the electronic version of Middle East, Abstracts & Index.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations, International Economic Relations, Economics, Industries, Political Science, World Politics

Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970-offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1971. National Archives records provide access to over 138,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Some of the topics covered include the British capture of Jerusalem, the milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948, Jewish terror groups, the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, the Border wars of the 1950s, formation of the United Arab Republic, the Cold War in the Middle East and Black September.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations

Iraq 1914-1974 offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Topics covered include: The Siege of Kut-al-Amara, The War in Mesapotamia and the capture of Baghdad in 1917, Introduction of the British Mandate, and the installation of King Faisal in 1921, The British administration in Baghdad, Gertrude Bell, advisor to the British administration, in both reports and memos, The Arab Uprising of 1920, Independence, and Iraq's membership of the League of Nations in 1932, Coups d'etat in the 1930s and 1940s, The Baghdad Pact of 1955 and the military coup of 1958 leading to the establishment of a republic, The Cold War and Soviet intervention in Iraq, Kurdish unrest and the war in Kurdistan, Oil concessions and oil exploration, The Rise of Ba'athism and Saddam Hussein, The USSR-Iraq Treaty of Friendship in 1972, Iran-Iraq relations.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations

Daily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora, and translated into English. Includes searchable archives and email newsletters.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations

History of migration and travel | 1800-1924 CE | Personal accounts, oral histories, correspondence, pamphlets, scrapbooks, photographs, and maps.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Military database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications and civil engineering. Full-text titles including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations, Military Art and Science, National Security, Political Science

Presents detailed information on more than 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Online version of the Modern Language Association Handbook, the authoritative source for MLA citation formatting and research paper layout.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1921. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

A comprehensive collection of sources in German history from about CE 500 to 1500.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

The Music & Performing Arts Collection features scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, newspapers, and reference works, covering a wide range of disciplines including dance, ballet, circus performance, popular music, puppetry, radio, stagecraft, theatre, classical music, and opera. The collection includes Music Periodicals Database. It also includes Performing Arts Periodicals Database, which indexes scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music, Dance, Film, Drama

Music ID is a growing repository of historical and current data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, GfK Entertainment and many more reporting agencies from over 30 countries around the world. Sales data drives the rankings. Rankings tell the story of the impact of music on society and cultures.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

African American Music Reference, a resource under development, brings together reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Coverage includes blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

American Music is a history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music, American Studies, Social Sciences, History, Interdisciplinary Studies

Classical Music in Video is a comprehensive streaming video collection to support the study of classical music, providing coverage in breadth and depth relevant to a broad range of area studies, including music history, music appreciation, music performance, analysis, and theory. It includes Historical recordings from the 1950s up to the most current recordings today. Performances of all forms of music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances. Masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world. Documentaries profiling classical artists and their work.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label, fully searchable database of classical music recordings, with a particular focus on contemporary music and women composers. Included are tens of thousands of licensed recordings, cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Provides streaming access to world music, with a focus on contemporary genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing, and jazz. Traditional world music is also included--Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, and gagaku. This is an essential resource for musicology, ethnomusicology, anthropology, folklore, and performance studies, with relevancy to a wider range of studies including world history, sociology and multi-cultural studies

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It contains more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Jazz music library is a collection of jazz recordings which covers thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. It's an essential resource for the study and teaching of jazz history, performance, theory, or appreciation.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Opera in Video presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. The collection contains 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries, and then delivered online through streaming video.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Popular Music from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The database includes an array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music

This database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text) provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music