Home Find Databases Databases

Databases

Find Databases by Subject

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Economics, Political Science, Sociology

A Literary History of Medicine by the Syrian physician Ibn Abī Uṣaybi'ah (d. 1270) is the earliest comprehensive history of medicine. It contains biographies of over 432 physicians, ranging from the ancient Greeks to the author's contemporaries, describing their training and practice, often as court physicians, and listing their medical works; all this interlaced with poems and anecdotes. These volumes present the first complete and annotated translation along with a new edition of the Arabic text showing the stages in which the author composed the work. Introductory essays provide important background. The reader will find on these pages an Islamic society that worked closely with Christians and Jews, deeply committed to advancing knowledge and applying it to health and well-being.

A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Political Science

The American Accounting Association is the largest community of accountants in academia. It works to shape the future of accounting through teaching, research, and a powerful network to ensure a position as thought leaders in accounting.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, Management, Business

A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.

Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Classical Studies

This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, Management, Business

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology

An online resource of world-renowned engineering content to support all levels of scientific and technical research. Please LOG OUT when you are finished using this resource.

Subject(s): Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.

Subject(s): Science, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Pharmacology, Chemistry, Health Sciences, Medicine, Public Health

Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Access to over 7,100 full text articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, biographies and Research Updates in science and technology. Updated daily.

Subject(s): Science, Technology

A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.

Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, History

A resource for bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full text for ACM periodicals (1985-) and proceedings (1991-)

Subject(s): Science, Computer Science

This collection consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group. Ovid MEDLINE links to article reviews in this file from its citations for the reviewed articles.

Subject(s): Health Sciences, Medicine

Provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995.

Subject(s): Science, Chemistry, Engineering, Chemical Engineering

Basic research journals in the field of chemistry, also includes some technoeconomic titles such as Chemical and Engineering News.

Subject(s): Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Science, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences

The ACS Symposium Series contains peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.

Subject(s): Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Science, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences

A collection of documents examining the lives of saints.

Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Religion

This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from AIAA and NASA. The database currently includes over 3.6M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Covers all aspects of applied research in the aerospace and space sciences.

Subject(s): Engineering, Science

This collection provides access to documents covering Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and existence as an independent state.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, International Relations

This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee Breaking the German Will to Resist.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, International Relations

The American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog) includes the entire print version, as well as new content and updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institutes Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2010.

Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film

The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa all related to developments in one calendar year. The Yearbook contains articles on all sub-Saharan states, each of the four sub-regions (West, Central, Eastern, Southern Africa) focusing on major cross-border developments and sub-regional organizations as well as one article on continental developments and one on European-African relations.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, Economics, Political Science

Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.

Subject(s): Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Sociology, International Relations, History, Economics, Political Science

Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, History

African-American Newspapers ultimately will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, History

More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.

Subject(s): Social Sciences, History

Pages