American Studies Databases

Find Databases by Subject

Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, Sociology

Access to 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, and the 1997 Economic Census.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Demography, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

The range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, International Relations

Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

This HeinOnline resource contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are data visualization charts, books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, Political Science

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Cornell's collection provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles from 22 journals.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Michigan's collection provides access to 9,500 books and almost 2500 digitized issues of 12 journals published in the 19th century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

American Music is a history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music, American Studies, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies