HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsAmerican Studies Databases

American Studies Databases

Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Sociology, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Drama, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Access to 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, and the 1997 Economic Census.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Political Science, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Cornell's collection provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles from 22 journals.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Michigan's collection provides access to 9,500 books and almost 2500 digitized issues of 12 journals published in the 19th century.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
American Song is a history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music, Social Sciences, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. It allows researchers to to analyze changes that have occurred in US neighborhoods over five decades. The NCDB contains 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Long Form data and the 2010 Summary File 1 and 2010 American Community Survey (ACS) data with details such as: population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies