Art Databases

Find Databases by Subject

Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Geography, Human Geography, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Art

Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Art

Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists interviews and other commentary, and much more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Architecture

A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Database.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Architecture

This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

Image study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

The Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles. Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. Coverage: 1864 - current.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Film, Arts and Humanities, Music

ARTstor is an image database of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, and archaeological and anthropological objects--with associated catalog data--from many major collections. Users are able to register themselves via the tools in the ARTstor Library. Faculty who want the higher level of access that allows them to create folders to share Image Groups with students or colleagues need to upgrade their user accounts by selecting Instructor Privileges Manager from the Tools toolbar menu. When registering for Instructor Privileges, users will be prompted to obtain the required authorization code and password, available from the Tisch reference desk at 617-627-3460.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Architecture

A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

Black Studies in Video includes streaming access to seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience in the United States. Highlights include footage from the 50th anniversary reunion celebrating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, documentaries of major black figures (e.g. Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton), and the Hatch-Billops Collection on black American art, drama, and literature.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Drama

ProQuest Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art

The EAI collection spans the mid-1960s to the present, and is a comprehensive video art collection. The works in the collection range from seminal videos by pioneering figures to new digital works by emerging artists.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Film, Art

Based on The index of Christian art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects begun at Princeton University in 1917. As of July 1, 2017, the Index of Christian Art became The Index of Medieval Art. The change reflects the broad evolution of the institution's scope and mission since its founding in 1917, when its work was limited to cataloguing religious themes and subjects in early Christian art up to 700 C.E. A century later, records have expanded to encompass both religious and secular imagery, including Jewish and Islamic works, from the first centuries of the Common Era until the sixteenth century.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

An annual bibliography of books and articles relating to European Humanism and the Renaissance. Sources may be historical, political, artistic, literary, philosophical, technical, economic, etc. The terms humanism and renaissance are intended in a broad sense, both in terms of content and chronology. Emphasis is on, but not strictly limited to, the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Coverage begins in 1965.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Political Science

65,000 items drawn from the Bodleian Library, Oxford University. Focuses on the 19th Century: entertainment, advertising, the book trade, popular prints, and crime.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Art

Kanopy is a service providing streaming videos for educational purposes. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Art, Science, Film, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Arts and Humanities

Library Stack is a living collection of independent ebooks, audio files, videos and digital documents being published within the fields of contemporary art, design, media studies, cinema, architecture and philosophy.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Ecology, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Film, Science, Biology

Through a single gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—a range of Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art

High-level overviews of scholarship written by top names in the field get researchers and faculty up to speed quickly on topics beyond an area of expertise.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Sociology