Art History Databases

Find Databases by Subject

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Archaeology, Social Sciences, Geography, Biology, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Sociology, Science, Biological Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Art History

Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists interviews and other commentary, and much more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Architecture

This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

Image study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

ARTstor is an image database of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, and archaeological and anthropological objects--with associated catalog data--from many major collections. Users are able to register themselves via the tools in the ARTstor Library. Faculty who want the higher level of access that allows them to create folders to share Image Groups with students or colleagues need to upgrade their user accounts by selecting Instructor Privileges Manager from the Tools toolbar menu. When registering for Instructor Privileges, users will be prompted to obtain the required authorization code and password, available from the Tisch reference desk at 617-627-3460.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Architecture

A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

Based on The index of Christian art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects begun at Princeton University in 1917. As of July 1, 2017, the Index of Christian Art became The Index of Medieval Art. The change reflects the broad evolution of the institution's scope and mission since its founding in 1917, when its work was limited to cataloguing religious themes and subjects in early Christian art up to 700 C.E. A century later, records have expanded to encompass both religious and secular imagery, including Jewish and Islamic works, from the first centuries of the Common Era until the sixteenth century.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

An annual bibliography of books and articles relating to European Humanism and the Renaissance. Sources may be historical, political, artistic, literary, philosophical, technical, economic, etc. The terms humanism and renaissance are intended in a broad sense, both in terms of content and chronology. Emphasis is on, but not strictly limited to, the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Coverage begins in 1965.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Political Science

Library Stack is a living collection of independent ebooks, audio files, videos and digital documents being published within the fields of contemporary art, design, media studies, cinema, architecture and philosophy.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Ecology, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Film, Science, Biology

High-level overviews of scholarship written by top names in the field get researchers and faculty up to speed quickly on topics beyond an area of expertise.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Sociology

High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Library, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the sixth through the sixteenth centuries CE. Includes extensive bibliographic material relating to the collection.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Religion, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History

DYABOLA databases include subject catalogues, bibliographies, photograph archives, and any other forms of text and images in the field of Classical archaeology. **YOU MUST CLICK 'ACTIVATE IP' AND THEN 'START'**

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art History, Archaeology, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, Anthropology