Home Find Databases Subjects Art History Databases

Art History Databases

World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Anthropology, Geography, History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Arts and Humanities, Art History
Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists interviews and other commentary, and much more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History, Architecture
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History
Image study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History
ARTstor is an image database of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, and archaeological and anthropological objects--with associated catalog data--from many major collections. Users are able to register themselves via the tools in the ARTstor Library. Faculty who want the higher level of access that allows them to create folders to share Image Groups with students or colleagues need to upgrade their user accounts by selecting Instructor Privileges Manager from the Tools toolbar menu. When registering for Instructor Privileges, users will be prompted to obtain the required authorization code and password, available from the Tisch reference desk at 617-627-3460.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History, Architecture
A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History
DYABOLA databases include subject catalogues, bibliographies, photograph archives, and any other forms of text and images in the field of Classical archaeology. **YOU MUST CLICK 'ACTIVATE IP' AND THEN 'START'**
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art History, Classical Studies, Social Sciences, Civilization, Anthropology
Formerly the Index of Christian Art; records of nearly 80,000 works of art accompanied by over 100,000 images. The Index records works of art from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550. There is a particular emphasis on art of the Western world, but with significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, among them manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History, Religion
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History
An annual bibliography of books and articles relating to European Humanism and the Renaissance. Sources may be historical, political, artistic, literary, philosophical, technical, economic, etc. The terms humanism and renaissance are intended in a broad sense, both in terms of content and chronology. Emphasis is on, but not strictly limited to, the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Coverage begins in 1965.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History, Language and Literature, Philosophy, Social Sciences, Economics, History, Political Science
Through a single gateway users can accessand simultaneously cross-searcha range of Oxfords art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History
High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Library, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the sixth through the sixteenth centuries CE. Includes extensive bibliographic material relating to the collection.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Religion, Philosophy, Art History, Social Sciences, History