Arts And Humanities Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A Literary History of Medicine by the Syrian physician Ibn Abī Uṣaybi'ah (d. 1270) is the earliest comprehensive history of medicine. It contains biographies of over 432 physicians, ranging from the ancient Greeks to the author's contemporaries, describing their training and practice, often as court physicians, and listing their medical works; all this interlaced with poems and anecdotes. These volumes present the first complete and annotated translation along with a new edition of the Arabic text showing the stages in which the author composed the work. Introductory essays provide important background. The reader will find on these pages an Islamic society that worked closely with Christians and Jews, deeply committed to advancing knowledge and applying it to health and well-being.

Subjects: Health Sciences, History of Medicine, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies

A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Latin Literature, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science

A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, History, Social Sciences

A collection of documents examining the lives of saints.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Religion

The American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog) includes the entire print version, as well as new content and updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institutes Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2010.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Film

This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Science, Engineering

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Archaeology, Social Sciences, Geography, Biology, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Sociology, Science, Biological Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Art History

Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Drama, Arts and Humanities, Film, Social Sciences, History

Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Geography, Human Geography, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Art

American Drama, 1714-1915 contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. It provides a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy. Plays are also cross-searchable according to a range of criteria, including genre, date and place of first performance and the nationality and ethnicity of the author.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Drama

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature

Information about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

A database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period CE 400-1200. It contains more than 400 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

This database contains texts in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published, or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus. This electronic edition provides an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Art

Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists interviews and other commentary, and much more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Architecture

A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Database.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Architecture

This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Art History

A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, French Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Political Science