HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsArts and Humanities Databases

Arts and Humanities Databases

The most important and comprehensive collection of early English-language newspapers, dating from 1603. A full-text digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides collected by the Reverend Doctor Charles Burney (1757-1817), preserved and augmented by the British Library.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature
A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Classical Studies
Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text articles are available in both PDF and HTML. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Subject(s): Science, Health Sciences, Medicine, Public Health, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science
A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, History
A collection of documents examining the lives of saints.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Religion
The American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog) includes the entire print version, as well as new content and updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institutes Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2010.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature
This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences
The Aluka Digital Library includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa. These range from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Anthropology, Geography, History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Arts and Humanities, Art History
Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Drama, Film
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Economics, Education, Geography, Anthropology, Arts and Humanities, Art
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Drama, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
American Drama, 1714-1915 contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. It provides a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy. Plays are also cross-searchable according to a range of criteria, including genre, date and place of first performance and the nationality and ethnicity of the author.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Drama
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature
Information about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences
Full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period CE 400-1200. It contains more than 400 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
A database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences
This database contains texts in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published, or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus. This electronic edition provides an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Architecture, Art
Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists interviews and other commentary, and much more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History, Architecture
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History
A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Philosophy, Social Sciences, Political Science, History
Image study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History
Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in the arts and humanities. Part of Web of Science.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities
Arts & Humanities Database includes scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities

Pages