Asian Studies Databases

Find Databases by Subject

This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, History, Diplomacy, Social Sciences, History

Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The works explore a wide variety of cinematic styles and techniques relevant to the study of film, literature, and the visual and performing arts.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Arts and Humanities, Film, Arts and Humanities, Drama

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, subject, country, keyword and ISSN.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Asian Studies

This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

Provides online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies