Biological Sciences Databases

Find Databases by Subject

An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Anatomy, Science, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Science, Biological Sciences, Pharmacology, Science, Chemistry, Internal Medicine, Health Sciences, Medicine, Pediatrics, Health Sciences, Medicine, Public Health, Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacology, Health Sciences, Allied Health Occupations

Basic research journals in the field of chemistry, also includes some technoeconomic titles such as Chemical and Engineering News.

Subjects: Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Biochemistry, Science, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Science, Biological Sciences

The ACS Symposium Series contains peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.

Subjects: Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Biochemistry, Science, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Science, Biological Sciences

Covers the agriculture literature and related fields published in books, technical reports, journals, theses, patents, software, and audio-visual materials.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Biological Sciences, Science, Agriculture, Forests and Forestry, Health Sciences, Diseases, Communicable Diseases, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health, Public Health, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

Focus is on indexing the literature pertaining to algae, fungi, protozoa, lichens; covers reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection/immunity.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology

The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. This bibliography is produced from MEDLINE database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

Altweb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Archaeology, Social Sciences, Geography, Biology, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Sociology, Science, Biological Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Art History

This 3D model of human anatomy by Anatomy.TV includes sections for the head and neck, thorax and abdomen, spine and joints, functional anatomy as well as dentistry and dental hygiene. Users may drill down through layers of musculature, neurovascular supply to the skeleton, each with accompanying text focused on the cursor. Its Anatomy Trains segment presents a unique 'longitudinal' view of myofascial anatomy.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medical Education, Dental Education, Health Sciences, Dentistry, Anatomy, Science, Biological Sciences

Indexes papers in animal behavior from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and applied ethology.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

Database with searching capabilities of animal taxonomic names with access to old zoological literature including all zoological taxa described between 1757 and 1764. Links to the digital editions of taxonomic literature including various editions of Linnæus. The project has various collaborators that may add information to the database. Service is provided by the Zoological Institute of the University of Göttingen, Germany.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Biology, Science, Agriculture, Science, Biological Sciences

The focus is on basic and applied research on aquatic organisms with particular attention to fisheries.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Science, Aquatic Sciences

This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species. With the extensive information resources of the international ASFA partnership behind it, ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts provides specific, unparalleled coverage of the planned management of aquatic organisms.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts is the one database that assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences, Science, Environmental Sciences

Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. Owned, operated and funded by Cornell University.

Subjects: Science, Physics, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences, Science, Computer Science, Engineering, Computer Engineering

This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Science, Biological Sciences

Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 2 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology

With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, Health Sciences, Public Health, Biochemistry, Science, Biological Sciences

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Science, Chemistry, Biochemistry

This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Science, Chemistry, Biochemistry

Offers online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals plus full text.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences

This database includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text sources from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology's cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology

This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Neurosciences

An aggregation of research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by small societies, and non commercial publishers.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Ecology