Civilization Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A searchable database of the American Museum of Natural History's digitized archival photographic images, art, ephemera, and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, Geography, Social Sciences, History

The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). It currently comprises 50,000 titles from 1958 to 2009, i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the famous bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Every reference has been fully classified by date, subject and location, and provides full bibliographical records. The disciplines to which the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is relevant include all aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and so forth in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is fully integrated with the International medieval bibliography: users can either search the bibliographical records of articles (IMB) and monographs (BCM) simultaneously, or select only one of the two bibliographies.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Ethnology, Social Sciences, Civilization

This website provides access to the following editions of the Encyclopaedia of Islam: Encyclopaedia of Islam First Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms, Encyclopaedia of Islam Three, Encyclopedie de l'Islam, and Historical Atlas of Islam.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Religion, Islamic Civilization, Social Sciences, Civilization

The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a freely available, digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Selected collections have been digitized, annotated, and peer-reviewed. It is particularly strong in ethnomusicology. Users must register to gain access to selected collections.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Film, Ethnology, Arts and Humanities, Music, Arts and Humanities, Dance, Social Sciences, Anthropology, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Civilization

Manuscript, printed, and visual sources for research on the British response to travel on the Continent for pleasure, business, and diplomacy between 1550 and 1850.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Civilization, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Geography, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Civilization, Islamic Civilization, Social Sciences, Religion, Social Sciences, History

Newly commissioned, fully peer-reviewed articles that supplement Lexicon des Mittlealters and offer supplementary notes to the original LexMA articles. The chronological range of IEMA is CE 3001500, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Civilization

An international index to medieval topics (400-1500) in literature, language, history, archaeology, art, music, theater, Arabic and Islamic studies, and religion and philosophy. IMB covers 4,500 journals and over 5,000 miscellany volumes in 30 languages. Coverage 1967-

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Civilization, Arts and Humanities

An index of interdisciplinary journal literature on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Civilization

The most comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Civilization

L'Annee philologique is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L'Annee philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Religion, Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, History

Provides citations and abstracts to the international technical literature on marine and brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Major areas of coverage include biological oceanography, ecology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation and communications, maritime law, desalination, ships, shipping, marine biology.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Ocean and Civilization, Science, Earth Sciences, Science, Environmental Sciences, Social Sciences, Civilization

A comprehensive source of articles on religious and political aspects of Islam and the Islamic world, including the Oxford Dictionary of Islam, the Oxford History of Islam, and a concordance and two translations of the Quran.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Civilization, Islamic Civilization, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Religion

DYABOLA databases include subject catalogues, bibliographies, photograph archives, and any other forms of text and images in the field of Classical archaeology. **YOU MUST CLICK 'ACTIVATE IP' AND THEN 'START'**

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art History, Archaeology, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, Anthropology