Classical Studies Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A Literary History of Medicine by the Syrian physician Ibn Abī Uṣaybi'ah (d. 1270) is the earliest comprehensive history of medicine. It contains biographies of over 432 physicians, ranging from the ancient Greeks to the author's contemporaries, describing their training and practice, often as court physicians, and listing their medical works; all this interlaced with poems and anecdotes. These volumes present the first complete and annotated translation along with a new edition of the Arabic text showing the stages in which the author composed the work. Introductory essays provide important background. The reader will find on these pages an Islamic society that worked closely with Christians and Jews, deeply committed to advancing knowledge and applying it to health and well-being.

Subjects: Health Sciences, History of Medicine, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies

A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Latin Literature, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies

Full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period CE 400-1200. It contains more than 400 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

This database contains texts in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published, or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus. This electronic edition provides an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

Digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL).

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Includes dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages; dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words; and historical Latin dictionaries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

On-line version includes the reviews, personal notes, obituraries and quarterly bibliographic appendices of the journal: Gnomon.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Greek Literature, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature, Social Sciences, Anthropology, Archaeology

A collection of approximately 1,000,000 incipits covering all known Latin texts, in manuscript form, from the start of Latin literature to around 1500 A.D.This includes ancient, patristic, medieval, and humanist literature and covers all genres: theology and liberal arts, history and poetry, medicine and liturgy, civil and canon law, exact and occult sciences, summons and sermons, glossaries and correspondences, cooking recipies and cursing formulas, large and small treatises, even isolated sentences.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

L'Annee philologique is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L'Annee philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Religion, Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, History

Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through the texts of the Second Vatican Council (CE 1962-1965). Covers all the works from the Classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature, as well as works of recentior latinitas, including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. Includes the complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Online Greek & Latin texts with parallel English translations. Every work is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date to facilitate online navigation.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Greek Literature

New Pauly Online is an encyclopedia for the study of Greco-Roman culture and its influence on modern world history. It is a practical reference work for everyday use by both experts as well as by those new to the discipline.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Social Sciences

The most comprehensive record of Greek patristic material in existence, comprising digital images of more than 160 book volumes.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Arts and Humanities, Religion

DYABOLA databases include subject catalogues, bibliographies, photograph archives, and any other forms of text and images in the field of Classical archaeology. **YOU MUST CLICK 'ACTIVATE IP' AND THEN 'START'**

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art History, Archaeology, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, Anthropology

The TLG digital library contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. **NOTE: Users must create a personal account in order to use the TLG.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Greek Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature