HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsClassical Studies Databases

Classical Studies Databases

A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Classical Studies
Full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period CE 400-1200. It contains more than 400 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
This database contains texts in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published, or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus. This electronic edition provides an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
Digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) which can be searched simultaneously.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Language and Literature
Offers online access to books and journals in the fields of History, Classical Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, International Relations, Law, Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, African Studies, Jewish Studies, Language and Linguistics, Religious Studies.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Civilization, Arts and Humanities, Religion, Classical Studies
Includes dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages; dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words; and historical Latin dictionaries.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
DYABOLA databases include subject catalogues, bibliographies, photograph archives, and any other forms of text and images in the field of Classical archaeology. **YOU MUST CLICK 'ACTIVATE IP' AND THEN 'START'**
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art History, Classical Studies, Social Sciences, Civilization, Anthropology
On-line version includes the reviews, personal notes, obituraries and quarterly bibliographic appendices of the journal: Gnomon.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Social Sciences, Anthropology
A collection of approximately 1,000,000 incipits covering all known Latin texts, in manuscript form, from the start of Latin literature to around 1500 A.D.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
L'Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly sub-specialities such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L'Année philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Language and Literature, Religion, Social Sciences, Civilization, History
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through the texts of the Second Vatican Council (CE 1962-1965). Covers all the works from the Classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature, as well as works of recentior latinitas, including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. Includes the complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Language and Literature
Online Greek & Latin texts with parallel English translations. Every work is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date to facilitate online navigation.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
High-level overviews of scholarship written by top names in the field get researchers and faculty up to speed quickly on topics beyond an area of expertise.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Art, Sociology, Communication and Media, Political Science, Religion
The most comprehensive record of Greek patristic material in existence, comprising digital images of more than 160 book volumes.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Religion
A collection of newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It includes critiques, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies
Virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. **NOTE: Users must create a personal account in order to use the TLG.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Language and Literature