HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsDrama Databases

Drama Databases

Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Drama, Film
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Drama, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
American Drama, 1714-1915 contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. It provides a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy. Plays are also cross-searchable according to a range of criteria, including genre, date and place of first performance and the nationality and ethnicity of the author.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Drama
Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The works explore a wide variety of cinematic styles and techniques relevant to the study of film, literature, and the visual and performing arts.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Arts and Humanities, Film, Language and Literature, Drama
Black Studies in Video includes streaming access to seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience in the United States. Highlights include footage from the 50th anniversary reunion celebrating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, documentaries of major black figures (e.g. Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton), and the Hatch-Billops Collection on black American art, drama, and literature.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Drama, Social Sciences, History
Digital Theatre Plus is the site of unique British theatre productions. They work with theatre companies in Britain to capture live performance for streaming. Full-length films are full length productions of current Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, musicals and adaptations of classic novels on the English stage, also behind the scenes interviews with theatre professions. Study guides of plots, characters, language, historical context and authors.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Drama
Aims to cover Colonial times to the present. Contains hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records: authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts, and related information. Also, full-text reference works, including ODells Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwoods American Theatre Companies. Finally, tens of thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Drama
This database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals. The database currently includes half a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Dance, Drama, Film
Play Index provides citations to over 30,000 plays written or translated into English, from Antiquity to the present, published in collections since 1949: one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. It includes links to the full text of plays if available on the web. Over 500 monologues are included. Searches can be limited by genre, age of audience, or the number and gender of roles. Annotations include plot summary, musical and scenery requirements, and number of sets. The index is updated continuously.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Drama, Language and Literature
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 of the worlds most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. At completion, Theatre in Video will contain more than 350 full-length plays and documentaries.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Drama
Full texts of 1,900 plays from the United States and Canada, of which 1,250 are in copyright and licensed from the authors or their estates.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Drama