English Language And Literature Databases

Find Databases by Subject

Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature

Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

The British Politics and Society archive of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is packed with primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. The content selection rationale for British Politics and Society was to present materials that enable in-depth examination and analysis of the growing calls for political reform that were met with state resistance and marked a crisis of legitimacy for both the government and the reform movements themselves. Political issues and reform derive from economic, social, ideological, even psychological elements, none of which should be assessed in a vacuum. The documents in this archive consider these political issues in the form of personalities, events, and institutions.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. This collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, for example, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records, offering scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Guidelines, rules and regulations about writing style, authorship, printing and publishing manuscripts, articles, essays, etc.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

An online collection reproducing every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819 - the complete printed, non-serial source materials of American culture for the 17th and 18th centuries. Covers titles in the Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker bibliographies.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Social Sciences, History

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), comprising all known English language books from the beginning of printing to 1700.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Eleven major editions, from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-1866, 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Cites over 300,000 essays and indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. Also includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences

Indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. Includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering 8 decades of 20th Century literature.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences

One of the most important literary discoveries of the second half of the twentieth century was the recovery of the spectacular library of more than 72,000 volumes, covering a broad range of subject areas, that was collected during the first half of the nineteenth century by Victor Amadeus, the Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (17791834), and housed at his castle (Castle Corvey) near Paderborn, Germany. In real terms this collection contains over 2 million printed pages of English-language works, many of them comprising multiple volumes. The Corvey Collection thus constitutes one of the most important collections of British Romantic-era writing in existence anywhere. The extent of its scholarly significance is indicated, for instance, by the considerable number of exceedingly rare publicationsand even numerous previously unknown worksby British writers (and women writers in particular, whose works comprise over 1,000 of the titles) who were active during the Romantic period. In addition to this remarkable trove of English-language literary texts, Gale's Corvey Collection of European Literature also includes 3,658 works in French (including more than 500 by women) and 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 1790 to 1840.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Biographical information, excerpts from critical essays, and bibliographies on major dramatists from all eras. International in scope. Access includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Manuscript, printed, and visual sources for research on the British response to travel on the Continent for pleasure, business, and diplomacy between 1550 and 1850.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Civilization, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Geography, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Library, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the sixth through the sixteenth centuries CE. Includes extensive bibliographic material relating to the collection.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Religion, Arts and Humanities, Art History, Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History

Play Index provides citations to over 30,000 plays written or translated into English, from Antiquity to the present, published in collections since 1949: one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. It includes links to the full text of plays if available on the web. Over 500 monologues are included. Searches can be limited by genre, age of audience, or the number and gender of roles. Annotations include plot summary, musical and scenery requirements, and number of sets. The index is updated continuously.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Drama, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

The most important and comprehensive collection of early English-language newspapers, dating from 1603. A full-text digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides collected by the Reverend Doctor Charles Burney (1757-1817), preserved and augmented by the British Library.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Index to short stories from a variety of magazines. Indexing from 1915-present; select full-text from 1994. Entries feature links to other works by the author and other stories in the source collection.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature