Environmental Sciences Databases

Find Databases by Subject

This database includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Science, Environmental Sciences

Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Science

This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Conservation of Natural Resources, Science, Environmental Sciences, Public Health, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health

The focus is on basic and applied research on aquatic organisms with particular attention to fisheries.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Science, Aquatic Sciences

Policy resources for managing all aspects of oceanography: chemical, geological and biological.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Geology, Science, Earth Sciences, Environmental Policy, Science, Environmental Sciences

This database is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists, environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers, corporate regulatory affairs managers and government officials.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Pollution, Science, Environmental Sciences, Hazardous Wastes, Science, Aquatic Sciences

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts is the one database that assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences, Science, Environmental Sciences

An aggregation of research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by small societies, and non commercial publishers.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Ecology

Provides international coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Public Health, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health, Forests and Forestry, Science, Agriculture, Science, Biological Sciences, Science, Environmental Sciences

Canary Database is a compilation of curated peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards. This database contains information added by trained curators in addition to bibliographic records from MEDLINE and other well-known databases. The database includes studies of wildlife, companion, and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect could be considered potentially relevant to human health.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Public Health, Health Sciences, Medicine, Ecology, Science, Agriculture, Science, Environmental Sciences

This collection consists of essential documents on the promulgation and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Environmental Policy, Social Sciences, Law

Provides access to abstracts and periodicals in atmospheric science in full-text and image formats.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Meteorology

This database is the essence of current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Ecology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Environmental Policy

Provides a limited search of environment abstracts within the ProQuest Environmental Science Index.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Environmental Policy, Science, Environmental Sciences, Ecology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Pollution, Social Sciences, Law

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Includes coverage from 1940s, as well as full text for over 650 journals.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Human Geography, Social Sciences, Geography, Urban Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, Law

Provides citations and abstracts to the literatures of scientific research and government policymaking. Topics are covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. Material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field. Major areas of coverage include air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management, land pollution, toxicology and health, noise, radiation, environmental action.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Pollution, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health, Health Sciences, Environmental Health

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues and includes sources such as topic summaries, scholarly articles, statistics, conference proceedings, news and magazine articles, podcasts, videos, industry reports, and consumer data.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Natural Resources

The GBIF global biodiversity information facility facilitates digitization and global dissemination of primary biodiversity data, so that people from all countries can benefit from the use of the information. This web site provides information about the current state of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), an international initiative.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences, Ecology, Science, Environmental Sciences

GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Ecology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Conservation of Natural Resources, Social Sciences, Economics, Economic Policy, Health Sciences, Environmental Health, Public Health, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health

JoVE Science Education is a video collection dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Science, Physics, Clinical Medicine, Engineering, Chemistry, Science, Medicine, Health Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Science, Psychology, Social Sciences

This database includes records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.

Subjects: Science, Earth Sciences, Meteorology, Science, Physical Sciences, Astronomy, Science, Environmental Sciences, Science, Aquatic Sciences

The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Forests and Forestry, Science, Environmental Sciences, Science, Agriculture, Science, Agriculture, Science, Aquatic Sciences, Science, Earth Sciences

Provides citations and abstracts to the international technical literature on marine and brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Major areas of coverage include biological oceanography, ecology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation and communications, maritime law, desalination, ships, shipping, marine biology.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Ocean and Civilization, Science, Earth Sciences, Science, Environmental Sciences, Social Sciences, Civilization

Standard Methods includes hundreds of analytical techniques for the determination of water quality.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences

This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. A subset of the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Ecology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Conservation of Natural Resources