Ethnology Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Ethnology, Civilization

Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch resource, incorporating both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Ethnology, Sociology, Minorities, History

Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource containing classic and contemporary documentaries for the visual study of human culture and behavior.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Ethnology, Sociology, History, Economics

The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a freely available, digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Selected collections have been digitized, annotated, and peer-reviewed. It is particularly strong in ethnomusicology. Users must register to gain access to selected collections.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Film, Ethnology, Music, Dance, Social Sciences, Anthropology, History, Civilization

Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Ethnology, Sociology, Ethnic Relations