HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsFilm Databases

Film Databases

The American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog) includes the entire print version, as well as new content and updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institutes Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2010.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Drama, Film
Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The works explore a wide variety of cinematic styles and techniques relevant to the study of film, literature, and the visual and performing arts.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Arts and Humanities, Film, Language and Literature, Drama
Entertainment ID is a library of media statistics bringing you all the professional numbers that tell the story of the impact of music and film on society and culture. Entertainment ID brings together two important data sets in a single platform: Film ID and Music ID.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music, Film
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a freely available, digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Selected collections have been digitized, annotated, and peer-reviewed. It is particularly strong in ethnomusicology. Users must register to gain access to selected collections.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film, Music, Dance, Social Sciences, Anthropology
Secondary source after Film & Television Literature Index (http://www.library.tufts.edu/ezproxy/ezproxy.asp?LOCATION=EBSCOFiTeLiIn ). Of 376 titles covered in FIAF, 207 have ceased publication. Database also contains brief filmographic details for 47,000 early films. International in scope.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
A bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
Not a periodical literature index, rather, a filmography and biographical source compiled by the British Film Institute for over 125,000 films. Includes coverage of international film awards and prizes, plot summaries, and film credits.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
This online tool provides access to data previously unavailable to students and researchers. It allows users to discover new insights and unlock a deeper understanding of film as a reflection of culture and society. 1,000 rankings each week since 2000 for the US, 1994 for the UK. The sales rankings tell the story of the impact of film on society and cultures. With Film Industry Data it is finally possible to assess changes in popular taste, box office performance and trends in genre, as well as, crucially, factors governing studio decisions and policy. Equipped with this database, a detailed comprehension of the impact of film on society and the influence of particular directors or actors is now advanced.
Subject(s): Art and Humanities, Film
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries in a single, easy-to search, multidisciplinary collection of streaming video designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers and teaching faculty.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
Kanopy is a service providing streaming videos for educational purposes. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Science, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Art, Film
The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film, Social Sciences, Sociology, Communication and Media, Management, Business, Education, Anthropology, Interdisciplinary Studies, Health Sciences, Science
New World Cinema is an online streaming video resource with 250+ full-length films, as well as 50+ award-winning short films. The films are from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and the Global Films Initiative.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the history of PBS.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Film
This database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals. The database currently includes half a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Dance, Drama, Film
A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute: AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
A collection of over 1000 films representing the foundation of modern cinematic technique and film theory. The collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film
Access to online video from Vanderbilt's archive collection of CNN and NBC material only, plus abstracts for the remainder of the collection which holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Political Science, Arts and Humanities, Film
World Newsreels Online (1929-1966) offers a rich resource of original newsreels. This collection has: original Japanese newsreels with English transcripts comes from Nippon News; the March of Time series from 1929 until 1966; United Newsreels featuring 200 hours of content from 1929 to 1946; Dutch newsreels from 1939 to 1945 showing how propaganda was used in occupied counties; French newsreels Les Actualites Mondiales and France Actualites from Vichy 1942-44; France Libre Actualites 1944-1945 segments from offshoot of the French Resistance; and Les Actualités Francaise, selections from the 1945-1969 series in which the French state discussed war topics, consequences, and reconstruction.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Film