Health Sciences Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A Literary History of Medicine by the Syrian physician Ibn Abī Uṣaybi'ah (d. 1270) is the earliest comprehensive history of medicine. It contains biographies of over 432 physicians, ranging from the ancient Greeks to the author's contemporaries, describing their training and practice, often as court physicians, and listing their medical works; all this interlaced with poems and anecdotes. These volumes present the first complete and annotated translation along with a new edition of the Arabic text showing the stages in which the author composed the work. Introductory essays provide important background. The reader will find on these pages an Islamic society that worked closely with Christians and Jews, deeply committed to advancing knowledge and applying it to health and well-being.

Subjects: Health Sciences, History of Medicine, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies

An online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform,and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Some subjects contained are OB/GYN, psychiatry, nephrology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, dermatology and many others.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Anatomy, Science, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Science, Biological Sciences, Pharmacology, Science, Chemistry, Internal Medicine, Health Sciences, Medicine, Pediatrics, Health Sciences, Medicine, Public Health, Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacology, Health Sciences, Allied Health Occupations

Online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. Features content and images from leading McGraw-Hill textbooks; drug database; curricular tools; review questions and answers; and multimedia study aids, including interactive program entitled: Anatomy & physiology revealed.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Physical Medicine, Health Sciences, Medicine, Sports Medicine, Health Sciences, Health Services, Rehabilitation, Health Sciences, Allied Health Occupations, Physical Therapy

Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Services, World Politics, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Social Sciences Research, Social Sciences, Sociology, Social Sciences, International Relations, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Economics

This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Services, Geriatrics, Health Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Sociology

Covers the agriculture literature and related fields published in books, technical reports, journals, theses, patents, software, and audio-visual materials.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Biological Sciences, Science, Agriculture, Forests and Forestry, Health Sciences, Diseases, Communicable Diseases, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health, Public Health, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. This bibliography is produced from MEDLINE database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

Altweb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

This 3D model of human anatomy by Anatomy.TV includes sections for the head and neck, thorax and abdomen, spine and joints, functional anatomy as well as dentistry and dental hygiene. Users may drill down through layers of musculature, neurovascular supply to the skeleton, each with accompanying text focused on the cursor. Its Anatomy Trains segment presents a unique 'longitudinal' view of myofascial anatomy.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medical Education, Dental Education, Health Sciences, Dentistry, Anatomy, Science, Biological Sciences

Indexes papers in animal behavior from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and applied ethology.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

The FDA Approved Animal Drug Products (aka Green Book), is updated monthly by FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine. The Generic Animal Drug and Patent Restoration act requires that each sponsor of an approved animal drug must submit to the FDA certain information regarding patents held for the animal drug or its method of use. The Act requires that this information, as well as a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness, be made available to the public. This list must be updated monthly under the provisions of the Act.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

Database with searching capabilities of animal taxonomic names with access to old zoological literature including all zoological taxa described between 1757 and 1764. Links to the digital editions of taxonomic literature including various editions of Linnæus. The project has various collaborators that may add information to the database. Service is provided by the Zoological Institute of the University of Göttingen, Germany.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Biology, Science, Agriculture, Science, Biological Sciences

This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Conservation of Natural Resources, Science, Environmental Sciences, Public Health, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health

Information about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

A database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Veterinary clinical studies conducted to investigate novel therapies or to collect samples or information to gain further understanding of a disease provide the best scientific evidence to guide the clinical care of animals, and oftentimes, people too. Search for studies relevant to a particular condition, provide health data or a sample from a normal animal.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, Health Sciences, Public Health, Biochemistry, Science, Biological Sciences

BMJ Best Practice is a point-of-care database developed by the BMJ Evidence Centre. It draws on the latest evidence to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Clinical Medicine, Health Sciences, Diseases

BMJ Journals publish medical titles in specialist clinical areas, public health and evidence-based medicine.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Internal Medicine, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health, Public Health

BoardVitals offers over 1,000 high-quality review questions with detailed explanations for the National Board Dental Exam I and II. Exam I questions cover both the basic science and dental sections. Questions, answers and explanations are categorized by Human Anatomy, Embryology, Histology, Biochemistry, Physiology, Microbiology, Pathology, Dental Anatomy and Occlusion. Exam II questions include both discipline-based components and case based components and cover the areas of Radiology Images, Prophylactic Regimens, Pathology Pictures, and Medically Compromised Cases (such as diabetes). First time users must register with their Tufts email before using this database.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medical Education, Dental Education, Health Sciences, Dentistry

A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Britannica Image Quest is an online file of more than two million rights-cleared images from some 40 image collections. Complete metadata, which includes the source, copyright holder, caption, and keywords, is provided for every image.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Provides current access to international coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Environmental Health, Health Sciences, Nutritional Sciences, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Science, Agriculture, Science, Biological Sciences