HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsHistory Databases

History Databases

The most important and comprehensive collection of early English-language newspapers, dating from 1603. A full-text digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides collected by the Reverend Doctor Charles Burney (1757-1817), preserved and augmented by the British Library.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature
Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Economics, Political Science, Sociology
A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Political Science
A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, History
Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.
Subject(s): Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Sociology, International Relations, History, Economics, Political Science
Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
African-American Newspapers ultimately will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers covering issues and events between 1800 and 1922
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphias renowned Afro-Americana Collection.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
The Aluka Digital Library includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa. These range from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Anthropology, Geography, History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Arts and Humanities, Art History
Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Drama, Film
Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Sociology, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Economics, Education, Geography, Anthropology, Arts and Humanities, Art
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Drama, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
The American National Biography Online has biographical information on over 17,000 notable Americans from colonial times to the present.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History
Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Political Science, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, International Relations
A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Philosophy, Social Sciences, Political Science, History
This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature
Aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). Intitially the bibliography focuses on the Central Middle Ages, but the coverage will be expanded in stages to cover both the Early and Late Middle Ages. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale currently comprises 40,000 titles from 1958 to 2003, i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the famous bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Civilization, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature
A portal to several resources in black studies (African American Studies, African Studies, and Diaspora Studies) including essays from Schomberg Studies on the Black Experience, indexes and full-text from black journals and periodicals covered by the International Index to Black Periodicals, the Marshall Index (formerly A Guide to Negro Periodical Literature), and the Black Literature Index. Also includes the full-text of the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1912-1975.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, History
Black Studies in Video includes streaming access to seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience in the United States. Highlights include footage from the 50th anniversary reunion celebrating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, documentaries of major black figures (e.g. Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton), and the Hatch-Billops Collection on black American art, drama, and literature.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Drama, Social Sciences, History
Local and regional news from 1980 to present.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Pages