Interdisciplinary Studies Databases

Find Databases by Subject

Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, Sociology

Access to 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, and the 1997 Economic Census.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Demography, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

The range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, International Relations

Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, History, Diplomacy, Social Sciences, History

Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The works explore a wide variety of cinematic styles and techniques relevant to the study of film, literature, and the visual and performing arts.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Arts and Humanities, Film, Arts and Humanities, Drama

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, subject, country, keyword and ISSN.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Asian Studies

This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Includes coverage from 1940s, as well as full text for over 650 journals.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Human Geography, Social Sciences, Geography, Urban Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, Law

This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Women's Studies, Social Sciences, Sociology

Begun in the late 19th century, the Gerritsen Collection represents books and periodicals tracing the development of feminist consciousness through 4 centuries and 15 languages. The Collection is one of the most important single sources in the study of women's history.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Women's Studies, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Sociology

This HeinOnline resource contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are data visualization charts, books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, Political Science

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Cornell's collection provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles from 22 journals.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. Michigan's collection provides access to 9,500 books and almost 2500 digitized issues of 12 journals published in the 19th century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

American Music is a history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Music, American Studies, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

Nexis Uni contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Law, Business, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication and Media, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Management, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Sociology

Digitized documents from the papers of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders of the first lesbian rights organization in the United States, the Daughters of Bilitis. This collection focuses on Lyon and Martins work with other organizations such as ACLE, the Kinsey Institute for Sex Research, the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, and the National Organization for Women, as well as covering the research and reception of Martins book Battered Wives. See also the related collection: Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Women's Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Human Rights, Social Sciences, Political Science

Digitized documents on the founding and growth of the homophile movement, especially the Daughters of Bilitis, the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, founded by Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin. The collection also includes copies of The Ladder, the monthly magazine for the Daughters of Bilitis, as well as early meeting minutes, correspondence, chapter records, membership data, and manuscripts. See also the related collection: Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Women's Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Human Rights, Social Sciences, Political Science

Provides online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

Search across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.

Subjects: Science, Interdisciplinary Studies, Public Health, Social Sciences, Medicine, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Engineering

Primary sources in the study of women's social movements from colonial times to the present. This database contains books, pamphlets and proceedings from national conventions on women's rights, abolition, and the Women's Christian Temperance Union.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Women's Studies, Social Sciences, History

A full-text collection of works written by women, in English or in English translation, before 1850.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Women's Studies, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Women's Studies