Islamic Civilization Databases
Find Databases by Subject
This website provides access to the following editions of the Encyclopaedia of Islam: Encyclopaedia of Islam First Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms, Encyclopaedia of Islam Three, Encyclopedie de l'Islam, and Historical Atlas of Islam.
This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
A comprehensive source of articles on religious and political aspects of Islam and the Islamic world, including the Oxford Dictionary of Islam, the Oxford History of Islam, and a concordance and two translations of the Quran.
Qur'anic Studies Online includes, among other resources, (1) Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān Online, an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'ānic studies; (2) Early Western Korans Online, a collection of 62 korans printed in Arabic type in several Western European cities between 1537 and 1857;(3) Qurʼān Concordance, a unique finding aid which allows users to identify and localize text fragments, or even snippets, of the Qurʼān; (4) and Dictionary of Qurʼānic Usage, a fully-researched and contextualised Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage, compiled in accordance with modern lexicographical methods by scholars who have a lifelong immersion in Qur'anic Studies.