Language And Literature Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Latin Literature, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies

Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature

A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, French Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Political Science

Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The works explore a wide variety of cinematic styles and techniques relevant to the study of film, literature, and the visual and performing arts.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Asian Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Arts and Humanities, Film, Arts and Humanities, Drama

The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). It currently comprises 50,000 titles from 1958 to 2009, i.e. the whole of the relevant elements from the famous bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. Every reference has been fully classified by date, subject and location, and provides full bibliographical records. The disciplines to which the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is relevant include all aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and so forth in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is fully integrated with the International medieval bibliography: users can either search the bibliographical records of articles (IMB) and monographs (BCM) simultaneously, or select only one of the two bibliographies.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL).

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

The index to the Black Literature microfiche collection. This index allows users to search bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry, and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities

Black Studies in Video includes streaming access to seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience in the United States. Highlights include footage from the 50th anniversary reunion celebrating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, documentaries of major black figures (e.g. Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton), and the Hatch-Billops Collection on black American art, drama, and literature.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Art, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Drama

Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

The British Politics and Society archive of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is packed with primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. The content selection rationale for British Politics and Society was to present materials that enable in-depth examination and analysis of the growing calls for political reform that were met with state resistance and marked a crisis of legitimacy for both the government and the reform movements themselves. Political issues and reform derive from economic, social, ideological, even psychological elements, none of which should be assessed in a vacuum. The documents in this archive consider these political issues in the form of personalities, events, and institutions.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. This collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, for example, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records, offering scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Guidelines, rules and regulations about writing style, authorship, printing and publishing manuscripts, articles, essays, etc.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

An online collection reproducing every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819 - the complete printed, non-serial source materials of American culture for the 17th and 18th centuries. Covers titles in the Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker bibliographies.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Social Sciences, History

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 16th and 17th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature

Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), comprising all known English language books from the beginning of printing to 1700.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Eleven major editions, from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-1866, 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Health Sciences, Medicine, Science, Technology, Social Sciences