Latin Literature Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A database of medieval abbreviations to assist in deciphering and transcribing medieval Latin manuscripts.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Latin Literature, Classical Studies

Full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period CE 400-1200. It contains more than 400 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

This database contains texts in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published, or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus. This electronic edition provides an integrated database of all the medieval translations of Aristotle's work. The electronic database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

Includes dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages; dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words; and historical Latin dictionaries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

On-line version includes the reviews, personal notes, obituraries and quarterly bibliographic appendices of the journal: Gnomon.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Greek Literature, Latin Literature, Social Sciences, Anthropology, Archaeology

A collection of approximately 1,000,000 incipits covering all known Latin texts, in manuscript form, from the start of Latin literature to around 1500 A.D.This includes ancient, patristic, medieval, and humanist literature and covers all genres: theology and liberal arts, history and poetry, medicine and liturgy, civil and canon law, exact and occult sciences, summons and sermons, glossaries and correspondences, cooking recipies and cursing formulas, large and small treatises, even isolated sentences.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature

Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through the texts of the Second Vatican Council (CE 1962-1965). Covers all the works from the Classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature, as well as works of recentior latinitas, including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. Includes the complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature, Language and Literature

Online Greek & Latin texts with parallel English translations. Every work is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date to facilitate online navigation.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature, Greek Literature

The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München). The database contains all content that is also available in print.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Latin Literature