HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsMusic Databases

Music Databases

The Bielefelder Katalog Klassik is the most comprehensive reference work in German-speaking countries for classical music. Sophisticated and extensive search options make it possible to search for and find artists, composers and works down to track level.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
A collection of over 400 hours of dances, instructional materials, and interviews with performers and choreographers. Dance in Video: Volume II showcases a new catalogue of dancers and partners including the Joffrey Ballet, John Jasperse Company, and Cloud Gate Dance Theatre.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Dance, Music
Entertainment ID is a library of media statistics bringing you all the professional numbers that tell the story of the impact of music and film on society and culture. Entertainment ID brings together two important data sets in a single platform: Film ID and Music ID.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music, Film
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a freely available, digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Selected collections have been digitized, annotated, and peer-reviewed. It is particularly strong in ethnomusicology. Users must register to gain access to selected collections.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Film, Music, Dance, Social Sciences, Anthropology
An open access online thematic catalogue of all compositions attributed to Girolamo Frescobaldi (Ferrara, 1583 Rome, 1643), and a database of the early sources, modern and facsimile editions, and literature.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music, Language and Literature
The only electronic database for finding individual pieces of music printed in the standard scholarly editions of monumental sets, collections, and the complete works of composers, this important resource is comprised of a Bibliography Database (of over 9,000 citations), a Names Database (of around 20,000 names of composers, librettists, poets, and editors), and an Index Database (of 135,000 records, detailing not only composers and titles, but also opus and thematic catalog numbers, performing forces, formats, genres, and more).
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
This resource is the largest online collection of classical music, operas and ballets in the world. Discover live broadcasts from prestigious venues and archived concerts, artist portraits, documentaries, and education programs. Compare different interpretations of the same work and explore composers, artists, periods, and genres. Medici.tv specializes in high definition video of classical music, available on the internet, mobile, tablets and connected tvs. Over 1,400 programs, concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films, and artist profiles may be streamed anytime. Over 100 concerts are broadcast live each year, in collaboration with prestigious performers, concert halls and festivals.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music, Dance
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
The online version of the venerable index to English-language and international periodical articles begun in 1949. The online version includes coverage since 1979. The Music Index provides citations only for popular and scholarly periodical articles, and some interdisciplinary journals (e.g. folklore, aesthetics, etc.).
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Measures the impact of music across countries and cultures. It enables evidence based research across all genres from pop to classical, jazz and world music.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Digitized archive of small press music magazines from the late 20th century.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
African American Music Reference, a resource under development, brings together reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Coverage includes blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
American Song is a history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music, Social Sciences, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Classical Music in Video is a comprehensive streaming video collection to support the study of classical music, providing coverage in breadth and depth relevant to a broad range of area studies, including music history, music appreciation, music performance, analysis, and theory. It includes Historical recordings from the 1950s up to the most current recordings today. Performances of all forms of music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances. Masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world. Documentaries profiling classical artists and their work.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label, fully searchable database of classical music recordings, with a particular focus on contemporary music and women composers. Included are tens of thousands of licensed recordings, cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Opera in Video presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. The collection contains 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries, and then delivered online through streaming video.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Popular Music from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Smithsonian Global Sound® is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The database includes an array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It contains more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
This database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text) provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
The online streaming audio collection of the Naxos recording label -- the current leading producer of classical music. The equivalent of more than 5,500 compact discs representing over 2,500 composers, the Naxos Library offers streams of not only Classical music, but also selected works in Jazz, Folk, and World music, as well as useful educational content, such as recording liner notes, biographical and historical essays, opera synopses and libretti, a glossary and pronunciation guide.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of Jazz music available online. It includes thousands of titles of the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Works may be searched by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Naxos Music Library World offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online (includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (Colin Larkins comprehensive reference work, 4th edition, devoted to rock, pop, and jazz). With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Music
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Institute of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese, and English language content.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, International Relations, Economics, Sociology, Anthropology, Political Science, History, Arts and Humanities, Music

Pages