Philosophy Databases

Find Databases by Subject

A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, French Language and Literature, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Political Science

An annual bibliography of books and articles relating to European Humanism and the Renaissance. Sources may be historical, political, artistic, literary, philosophical, technical, economic, etc. The terms humanism and renaissance are intended in a broad sense, both in terms of content and chronology. Emphasis is on, but not strictly limited to, the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Coverage begins in 1965.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History, Language and Literature, Philosophy, Social Sciences, Economics, History, Political Science

High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Library, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the sixth through the sixteenth centuries CE. Includes extensive bibliographic material relating to the collection.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Religion, Art History, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History

This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Philosophy

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. It is also the host of the largest open access archive in philosophy.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Philosophy