Political Science Databases

Find Databases by Subject

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Economics, Political Science, Sociology

A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Political Science

Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Services, World Politics, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences Research, Sociology, International Relations, History, Economics

Full-text searching of records from the ACLU from before its founding in 1920 through the 20th century. Covers topics such as race, identity, gender rights, workers rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Law, Political Science

The American Enterprise Institute is a public policy think tank. The American Enterprise Institute database brings AEI's collection of scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Institute in HeinOnline's fully-searchable image-based format.Unique to this collection is the ability to search by Policy Area, a subject identifier assigned by AEI to each of their publications that organizes their works into the following areas: economics, foreign and defense policy, society and culture, health care, politics and public opinion, poverty studies, and education.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Education, Political Science

Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Political Science, Interdisciplinary Studies

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Education, Political Science

This collection enables students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more. This unique fully-searchable collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Sociology, Political Science

A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Philosophy, French Language and Literature, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Political Science

Bloomsbury Food Library is a home to a wide-ranging collection of interdisciplinary food studies content, with subjects in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. Bloomsbury Food Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Languages and Literature, Biology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Human Geography, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Geography, History, Political Science, Sociology

Culled from the U.S. National Archives, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. Includes significant material related to the British Mandate in Palestine.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Demography, Nationalism, History, Cultural Relations, International Relations, Sovereignty, Business, Political Science, Management

Asian history, colonialism | 1834-1922 CE | Records from the British Foreign Office Files.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, World Politics, Political Science

Provides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Law, Political Science

Financial, political and economic risk ratings for approximately 140 countries.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations, Political Science, Economics

CQ Press Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Political Science, Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Planning, History

The Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Demography, World Politics, Economics, History, International Relations, Political Science

Data Planet provides access to several thousand different national and international standardized datasets; the data can be displayed in charts, graphs, maps, and tables, as well as exported for further manipulation. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. The data now includes U.S. Political Stats.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Demography, Population Geography, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Economics, Finance

The Digital National Security Archive, with over 35,000 documents, provides access to what has been called the largest collection of contemporary declassified national security information outside the United States Government.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations, History, Political Science

EIU Viewpoint provides information for organizations to operate effectively and plan for the future. Assess global dynamics that could impact business with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations, International Economic Relations, Political Science, World Politics, Economics, Business, Finance, Management

Economist Intelligence Unit reports provides access to full-text of Country Reports, Country Profiles, Financial Services Reports and Country Commerce series, and Risk Briefing. All reports -except Risk Briefing- can be searched simultaneously.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Political Science, World Politics, International Relations, International Economic Relations, Economics, Business, Finance, Management

Europa World Plus is the online version of the most recent Europa World Year Book and the nine Regional Surveys of the World Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australia, The Middle East and North Africa, South American, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. This reference work provides up-to-date background and statistical information on every country in the world.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Political Science, World Politics, International Relations, International Cooperation, Economics

The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This HeinOnline library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports, Annual Reports, Working Papers, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Political Science

This HeinOnline resource includes the publications of the American Society of International Law, Yearbooks from around the world, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Law, International Law, Political Science, World Politics, International Relations

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports presents translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe. Includes Annexes from 1974-1996.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Political Science, World Politics, International Relations, History

Culled from the U.S. National Archives, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. Includes material on the French Mandate in Syria-Lebanon the Druse Rebellion of 1925, religious and political conflict, the failure of the Franco-Lebanese Treaty of 1936, the creation of a new mandate administration in Syria in 1939, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Demography, Business, Management, Nationalism, History, Cultural Relations, International Relations, Sovereignty, Political Science