HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsReligion Databases

Religion Databases

A collection of documents examining the lives of saints.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Religion
The American Theological Association's Religion Database covers journals, multi-author books, and book reviews in Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This is the online edition of Religion Index One and Two, and Index to Book Reviews in Religion.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Religion
20 different versions of the English Bible from the 10th to the 20th century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Religion
Offers online access to books and journals in the fields of History, Classical Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, International Relations, Law, Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, African Studies, Jewish Studies, Language and Linguistics, Religious Studies.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Civilization, Arts and Humanities, Religion, Classical Studies
Access to African American Poetry, American Poetry, The Bible in English, Editions & Adaptations of Shakespeare, and Twentieth-Century American Poetry.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Religion
This website provides access to the following editions of the Encyclopaedia of Islam: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms Encyclopaedia of Islam, Three Encyclopedie de l'Islam Historical Atlas of Islam
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Religion, Social Sciences, Civilization
This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Civilization, Arts and Humanities, Religion, History
Formerly the Index of Christian Art; records of nearly 80,000 works of art accompanied by over 100,000 images. The Index records works of art from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550. There is a particular emphasis on art of the Western world, but with significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, among them manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Art, Art History, Religion
L'Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly sub-specialities such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L'Année philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Language and Literature, Religion, Social Sciences, Civilization, History
High-level overviews of scholarship written by top names in the field get researchers and faculty up to speed quickly on topics beyond an area of expertise.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Art, Sociology, Communication and Media, Political Science, Religion
A comprehensive source of articles on religious and political aspects of Islam and the Islamic world, including the Oxford Dictionary of Islam, the Oxford History of Islam, and a concordance and two translations of the Quran.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Civilization, History, Arts and Humanities, Religion
High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Library, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the sixth through the sixteenth centuries CE. Includes extensive bibliographic material relating to the collection.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, Religion, Philosophy, Art History, Social Sciences, History
The most comprehensive record of Greek patristic material in existence, comprising digital images of more than 160 book volumes.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies, Religion