Social Sciences Databases

Find Databases by Subject

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Sociology

A Literary History of Medicine by the Syrian physician Ibn Abī Uṣaybi'ah (d. 1270) is the earliest comprehensive history of medicine. It contains biographies of over 432 physicians, ranging from the ancient Greeks to the author's contemporaries, describing their training and practice, often as court physicians, and listing their medical works; all this interlaced with poems and anecdotes. These volumes present the first complete and annotated translation along with a new edition of the Arabic text showing the stages in which the author composed the work. Introductory essays provide important background. The reader will find on these pages an Islamic society that worked closely with Christians and Jews, deeply committed to advancing knowledge and applying it to health and well-being.

Subjects: Health Sciences, History of Medicine, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Classical Studies

A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Political Science

Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. 1971-. 520 Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics

Local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides information not typically found in the national press sources.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Management, Business, Social Sciences, Economics

Contains content from more than 3,600 business and management publications worldwide, covering advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Provides full text articles for over 2,000 titles. Also provides access to information on more than 60,000 companies as well as executive profiles, reports on market conditions, and in-depth case studies of global business trends. Coverage starts from 1971 forward.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Finance, Social Sciences, Economics, Commerce, Social Sciences, Management, Business

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry provides information about companies, products, and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Specific industries covered include food & drink, pharmacy, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and petrochemicals.

Subjects: Socials Sciences, Economics, Industries, Social Sciences, Management, Business

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Sociology

A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, History, Social Sciences

This collection provides access to documents covering Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and existence as an independent state.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, International Relations

This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee Breaking the German Will to Resist.

Subjects: Social Sciences, International Relations

Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Services, World Politics, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Social Sciences Research, Social Sciences, Sociology, Social Sciences, International Relations, Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Economics

This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

African-American Newspapers ultimately will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers covering issues and events between 1800 and 1922.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphias renowned Afro-Americana Collection.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Services, Geriatrics, Health Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Sociology

Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Science, Engineering

Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Science

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Archaeology, Social Sciences, Geography, Biology, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Sociology, Science, Biological Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Art History

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Geology, Science, Earth Sciences

Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Drama, Arts and Humanities, Film, Social Sciences, History