HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsSocial Sciences Databases

Social Sciences Databases

The most important and comprehensive collection of early English-language newspapers, dating from 1603. A full-text digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides collected by the Reverend Doctor Charles Burney (1757-1817), preserved and augmented by the British Library.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature
Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Economics, Political Science, Sociology
A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Political Science
The American Accounting Association is the largest community of accountants in academia. It works to shape the future of accounting through teaching, research, and a powerful network to ensure a position as thought leaders in accounting.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Management, Business
This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Management, Business
Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text articles are available in both PDF and HTML. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Subject(s): Science, Health Sciences, Medicine, Public Health, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science
Access UN is a comprehensive commercial index to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications, including official records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and UN Treaty Series citations.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, International Relations, Political Science
A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, History
This collection provides access to documents covering Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and existence as an independent state.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, International Relations
This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee Breaking the German Will to Resist.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, International Relations
The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa all related to developments in one calendar year. The Yearbook contains articles on all sub-Saharan states, each of the four sub-regions (West, Central, Eastern, Southern Africa) focusing on major cross-border developments and sub-regional organizations as well as one article on continental developments and one on European-African relations.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Economics, Political Science
Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.
Subject(s): Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Sociology, International Relations, History, Economics, Political Science
Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
African-American Newspapers ultimately will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers covering issues and events between 1800 and 1922
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences
Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphias renowned Afro-Americana Collection.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History
Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues.
Subject(s): Health Sciences, Social Sciences
Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Engineering, Science, Art and Humanities
Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Science, Environmental Sciences
The Aluka Digital Library includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa. These range from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Anthropology, Geography, History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Arts and Humanities, Art History
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Economics, Science, Geology
Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Drama, Film
Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Sociology, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Economics, Education, Geography, Anthropology, Arts and Humanities, Art

Pages