HomeFindDatabasesSubjectsSociology Databases

Sociology Databases

Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, and LSE Selected Pamphlets.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Economics, Political Science, Sociology
Offers multidisciplinary information and provides the opportunity to search across 40 integrated databases sourced worldwide. Combining South African Studies and African Studies, NiPAD provides access to two million records with full-text links.
Subject(s): Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Sociology, International Relations, History, Economics, Political Science
The Aluka Digital Library includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa. These range from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Anthropology, Geography, History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Arts and Humanities, Art History
Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Sociology, Interdisciplinary Studies, American Studies
A portal to several resources in black studies (African American Studies, African Studies, and Diaspora Studies) including essays from Schomberg Studies on the Black Experience, indexes and full-text from black journals and periodicals covered by the International Index to Black Periodicals, the Marshall Index (formerly A Guide to Negro Periodical Literature), and the Black Literature Index. Also includes the full-text of the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1912-1975.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, History
An index and abstracting resource with considerable full-text. It incorporates the content of CommSearch & Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Communication and Media
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Law
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides access to several thousand different national and international standardized datasets; the data can be displayed in charts, graphs, maps, and tables, as well as exported for further manipulation. Data can also be navigated using the Ready Reference search interface. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. (Formerly known as ProQuest Statistical Datasets.)
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, International Relations
An expanding source of letters, diaries and other accounts of early encounters between Europeans and Native Americans from the mid-1600s through the mid 1800s. This resource is fully indexed and can be searched in a wide variety of ways, and should be of interest to historians, anthropologists and environmental scientists.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Sociology
Full-text searching of Elsevier ebooks in forensics, security, and criminal justice.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Law
Full-text searching of Elsevier ebooks in media technology.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Communication and Media, Science, Technology
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch resource, incorporating both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Anthropology, Sociology, History
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This database contains the retrospective backfile of Ethnic NewsWatch titles with coverage from 1960 through 1989.
Subject(s): Sociology
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource containing classic and contemporary documentaries for the visual study of human culture and behavior.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Anthropology, Sociology, History, Civilization
This bibliographic database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, History, Sociology
Electronic version of Gale's print reference directories; cross-searchable with links to related web sites and email addresses.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Communication and Media, Management, Business
Gallup Analytics provides access to trended data for the U.S. back to the 1930's and a decade of data from more than 160 countries. It includes data sources from Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking, and Gallup Brain.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Political Science
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Sociology
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Subject(s): Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sociology, Management, Business, Science
Begun in the late 19th century, the Gerritsen Collection represents books and periodicals tracing the development of feminist consciousness through 4 centuries and 15 languages. The Collection is one of the most important single sources in the study of women's history.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, History, Sociology
Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States: citations to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, and other material in more than 500 international social science and humanities journals, published from 1970 to the present. Many citations are linked to full-text.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, International Relations, Political Science, Sociology, Anthropology, Economics, History, Arts and Humanities
ICPSR provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction. Data files are raw data, not in report format, and are used with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. There is a tutorial on the site and a Tufts University contact is listed to help with downloading.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Political Science
Independent Voices provides access to over 1,000 titles from magazines, journals, and newspapers drawn from alternative presses published in the 1960s-1980s. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Political Science
The iPOLL Databank from the Roper Center Public Opinion Archives focuses on national scope surveys and contains not only the complete question text and responses to half a million questions from as far back as 1935, but also information such as study abstracts, links to questionnaires, datasets and citation information where available.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Sociology, Political Science
Full-text, in-depth essays giving multiple perspectives to issues facing society today. Search full text, subject index, title, date. Custom searching also available. It also provides access to selected primary source documents, interviews, newspaper editorials and bibliographies.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Political Science, Economics, Sociology
Please note, there is a new version of LexisNexis Academic available: Nexis Uni.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Law, Management, Business, Economics, Political Science, Sociology, Communication and Media, Interdisciplinary Studies, Health Sciences
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.
Subject(s): Social Sciences, Science, Technology, Sociology, Communication and Media

Pages