Women'S Studies Databases
Find Databases by Subject
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
This database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Digitized documents from the papers of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders of the first lesbian rights organization in the United States, the Daughters of Bilitis. This collection focuses on Lyon and Martins work with other organizations such as ACLE, the Kinsey Institute for Sex Research, the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, and the National Organization for Women, as well as covering the research and reception of Martins book Battered Wives. See also the related collection: Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis.
Digitized documents on the founding and growth of the homophile movement, especially the Daughters of Bilitis, the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, founded by Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin. The collection also includes copies of The Ladder, the monthly magazine for the Daughters of Bilitis, as well as early meeting minutes, correspondence, chapter records, membership data, and manuscripts. See also the related collection: Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis.
Begun in the late 19th century, the Gerritsen Collection represents books and periodicals tracing the development of feminist consciousness through 4 centuries and 15 languages. The Collection is one of the most important single sources in the study of women's history.
Primary sources in the study of women's social movements from colonial times to the present. This database contains books, pamphlets and proceedings from national conventions on women's rights, abolition, and the Women's Christian Temperance Union.
British history, women's history | 1903-1962 CE | Finding aid to British National Archives, government documents | Focus on Women's suffrage in Britain and British colonies.
A full-text collection of works written by women, in English or in English translation, before 1850.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.