All Subjects

Find Databases by Subject

This freely available resource indexes the periodical literature of Africa with a focus on the social sciences. The Africana Periodical Literature database now includes citations from the Nairobi Office of the Library of Congress Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991-2011). Where possible links to the full-text of the article have been included. While the priority has been to index the scholarly literature of Africa, selected NGO reports are also indexed.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences

Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

African-American Newspapers ultimately will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers covering issues and events between 1800 and 1922.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature

Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphias renowned Afro-Americana Collection.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Services, Geriatrics, Health Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Sociology

Covers the agriculture literature and related fields published in books, technical reports, journals, theses, patents, software, and audio-visual materials.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Biological Sciences, Science, Agriculture, Forests and Forestry, Health Sciences, Diseases, Communicable Diseases, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health, Public Health, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

This database includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more

Subjects: Science, Agriculture, Science, Environmental Sciences

ProQuest Agriculture Journals contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. It covers a wide range of agriculture-related topics, such as animal and veterinary sciences, plant sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, forestry farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and food and human nutrition. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation, and Plant Physiology.

Subjects: Science, Agriculture

Focus is on indexing the literature pertaining to algae, fungi, protozoa, lichens; covers reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection/immunity.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology

Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Science, Engineering

Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Science

The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. This bibliography is produced from MEDLINE database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

Altweb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

This resource includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials related to Africa ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides in many disciplines including history, anthropology, botany, economics, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Archaeology, Social Sciences, Geography, Biology, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Sociology, Science, Biological Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Art History

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Geology, Science, Earth Sciences

Access to complete collection of 494 videos, including BBC Shakespeare Plays.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Drama, Arts and Humanities, Film, Social Sciences, History

Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 through 12, 1690-1922, and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. Series 1 (1690 - 1876) provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies. Series 2 (1758 - 1900) focuses on the 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. Series 3 (1829 - 1922) focuses on the 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including Civil War, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond. Series 4 (1756-1922); Series 5 (1777-1922); Series 6 (1741-1922); Series 7 (1773-1922); Series 8 (1844-1922); Series 9 (1832-1922); Series 10 (1730-1900); Series 11 (1803-1899); Series 12 (1821-1900).

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, Sociology

Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Geography, Human Geography, Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, History, Arts and Humanities, Art

Full-text searching of records from the ACLU from before its founding in 1920 through the 20th century. Covers topics such as race, identity, gender rights, workers rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, Social Sciences, Law, Social Sciences, Political Science

American Drama, 1714-1915 contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. It provides a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy. Plays are also cross-searchable according to a range of criteria, including genre, date and place of first performance and the nationality and ethnicity of the author.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Drama