All Subjects

Find Databases by Subject

The American Enterprise Institute is a public policy think tank. The American Enterprise Institute database brings AEI's collection of scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Institute in HeinOnline's fully-searchable image-based format.Unique to this collection is the ability to search by Policy Area, a subject identifier assigned by AEI to each of their publications that organizes their works into the following areas: economics, foreign and defense policy, society and culture, health care, politics and public opinion, poverty studies, and education.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Education, Social Sciences, Political Science

Access to 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, and the 1997 Economic Census.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Demography, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

The range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Sciences, International Relations

The American National Biography Online has biographical information on over 17,000 notable Americans from colonial times to the present.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Social Sciences, History

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century.

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, Arts and Humanities, Language and Literature, American Literature

Legislative and executive documents originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History, American Studies, Social Sciences, Political Science, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies

A searchable database of the American Museum of Natural History's digitized archival photographic images, art, ephemera, and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology, Social Sciences, Civilization, Social Sciences, Geography, Social Sciences, History

Analytical Abstracts (also known as Analytical WebBase) is a current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Search the worldwide analytical literature from 1980 until the latest update.

Subjects: Science, Chemistry, Science, Chemistry

This 3D model of human anatomy by Anatomy.TV includes sections for the head and neck, thorax and abdomen, spine and joints, functional anatomy as well as dentistry and dental hygiene. Users may drill down through layers of musculature, neurovascular supply to the skeleton, each with accompanying text focused on the cursor. Its Anatomy Trains segment presents a unique 'longitudinal' view of myofascial anatomy.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medical Education, Dental Education, Health Sciences, Dentistry, Anatomy, Science, Biological Sciences

Provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.

Subjects: Social Sciences, History

Indexes papers in animal behavior from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and applied ethology.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

The FDA Approved Animal Drug Products (aka Green Book), is updated monthly by FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine. The Generic Animal Drug and Patent Restoration act requires that each sponsor of an approved animal drug must submit to the FDA certain information regarding patents held for the animal drug or its method of use. The Act requires that this information, as well as a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness, be made available to the public. This list must be updated monthly under the provisions of the Act.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine

Database with searching capabilities of animal taxonomic names with access to old zoological literature including all zoological taxa described between 1757 and 1764. Links to the digital editions of taxonomic literature including various editions of Linnæus. The project has various collaborators that may add information to the database. Service is provided by the Zoological Institute of the University of Göttingen, Germany.

Subjects: Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Biology, Science, Agriculture, Science, Biological Sciences

This database contains a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.

Subjects: Engineering, Technology, Science

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It covers over 2,500 journals and begins coverage in the late 19th century.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology

A service developed by the American Anthropological Association containing a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003, as well as current issues of eleven critical peer-reviewed publications.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Anthropology

A fully searchable version of the Associated Press Stylebook, including an A-Z guide to usage, spelling, and a pronunciation guide with audio files.

Subjects: Social Sciences

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.

Subjects: Social Sciences, Economics, Social Sciences, Education, Social Sciences, Political Science

This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Conservation of Natural Resources, Science, Environmental Sciences, Public Health, Health Sciences, Environment and Public Health

The focus is on basic and applied research on aquatic organisms with particular attention to fisheries.

Subjects: Science, Biological Sciences, Biology, Science, Environmental Sciences, Science, Aquatic Sciences

Policy resources for managing all aspects of oceanography: chemical, geological and biological.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Geology, Science, Earth Sciences, Environmental Policy, Science, Environmental Sciences

This database is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists, environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers, corporate regulatory affairs managers and government officials.

Subjects: Science, Environmental Sciences, Pollution, Science, Environmental Sciences, Hazardous Wastes, Science, Aquatic Sciences

This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species. With the extensive information resources of the international ASFA partnership behind it, ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts provides specific, unparalleled coverage of the planned management of aquatic organisms.

Subjects: Science, Aquatic Sciences, Biology, Science, Biological Sciences